Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-21-2011, 10:01 PM   #1

New 21SS Questions

Had our walk through today to check out the new camper. Very excited to bring it home - much nicer than I could have imagined. Couple of questions for the veterans.

1. They wanted to sell a WDH with sway bars. Is this something we should purchase and if so what kind of price should we expect? We are towing with a 2004 Chevy Avalanche with a V8 with a standard towing package.

2. Extended warranty - yes or no and if yes, how much. They were offering a 5 yr extended.

Thanks for your help!

Dave
coachendo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 10:13 PM   #2

I have a WDH hitch and wouldn'nt go without it. I have no experience with sway bars, any time ( like twice maybe) I had any sway gently holding the brake so that the trailer brakes came on pulled out the sway.
rick_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:15 PM   #3
Site Team

not sure why you thought you wouldn't need a WDH. did someone advise you that you wouldn't need one?

i have an Avalanche and the owner's manual specifically calls for a WDH over a certain amount of tongue weight and the 21SS' will be over that.

have you towed a large trailer before? you should find out if you have a standard tow package or a HD tow package.

i bought an Equal-i-zer from RVW, along with my Prodigy brake controller. do you already have a brake controller?

the Equalizer and the Reese Dual-Cam are the top selling WDH units out there, partly because they have built-in sway control and are excellent products.
my Equalizer cost me around $400 with free shipping.

did the dealer tell you that you can get a second year of the FR factory warranty for about $150? some have said that it's free right now.