Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-24-2015, 07:34 PM   #1

New Shamrock, a few questions

Hi all, first post here.

I am looking to purchase a Shamrock. I believe it is a 2003. It is a 21 foot. (this is all from a craiglist ad).

First of all what do I need to look for other than the obvious, soft spots in the floors and walls, wrinkled flooring, bald tires, etc. Problem areas?

And secondly, the owner sent me some pics of the bunk ends and they are destroyed by mice. There are multiple holes. I fear that they both need complete replacement. Is this something that I can do? I am a fairly handy person.

Finally, A full size Ford Expedition with tow package should have no trouble pulling this rig, right?

I am new to campers and appreciate any help. Thank you.
Parr8hed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 07:43 PM   #2

Others have replaced the tents, but I think it's run them $600+. They have done it themselves. Check this thread:

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...nts-78984.html

With respect to your tow vehicle: You should post more info than what you did. (See my sig below). Someone with something similar will probably give you some advice. And be careful: not all Explorers (or Silverados) are created equal. What's the tow capacity? What's the payload? Etc. Try to find the owners manual if you don't already have it and see what it says (e.g., my Silverado manual lists 99 different versions of the 1500, with tow capacity ranging from about 4,000 lbs up to 11,000 lbs depending on engine, transmission, cooling, etc.).

Regarding what to look for, here's a thread asking a similar question:

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...tml#post933768

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote