Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2019, 10:48 AM   #1

Newbie here

We are looking to purchase a new roo or shamrock. Either the 21ss or24ws. While looking at you tube reviews I found several people complaining of leaking when the ends are closed. They seemed to be older posts though. Can anyone tell me if this is a real problem? We really like this trailer and feel every problem has a solution, but wanted real answers nor dealer answers. Also any pros or cons on the 2 units. My husband and my self are buying this with my son, so it could be up to 6 people, including 2 young boys camping together. Thank you in advance.
Dha3249 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 11:16 AM   #2

I have a 2017 233 and have experienced minor leaking on one of the bunk ends. I have noticed it when opening the bunk and I see a little moisture or dirt staining on the tent that indicates water was there. I have never seen a lot to where I am concerned. No water actually inside the camper. I have wondered if the leaking would be worse if we weren't in the drier climate of Colorado.

I have read on here and seen pictures where people have tracked their leaks to the rubber seal around the bunk not being well installed to where there are spaces where the vertical and horizontal seals meet.
joeuncool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 12:04 PM   #3
Site Team

The older hybrids had more leak issues than the newer ones.
The pre-attached canvas is better than the old bungee/snaps canvas.
Some of those newbie leak issues were from condensation because they didn't allow for air movement.
Others didn't maintain the door seals or didn't keep the canvas out of the seals, when closing up the bunk door.
Others fail to "season" the canvas seams.
IMHO, only a portion of leaks were manufacturing defects.