Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 11:08 AM   #1
Junior Member
Mr.W's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 20
Refrigerator question

Hi to Ya'll, I have a question about our new Roo 233s. I connected the refrig. up to shore power yesterday and had ice in freezer in 4 hours, which was great. The refrig. seems to be working fine also. I read manual and refrig. stickers inside about (auto button etc., to AC or Propane). Question is I understand from reading on here that when you hook up to TV it switches (auto) to 12 volt from TV. I just can't find it in writing in manual etc. and don't want to loose a lot of frozen and refrig. product on way to camp ground. six to seven hour trip to Mts. I know to use on propane that the tank must be turned on. You guys have so much info that most times I do not have to even ask. Thanks in advance and hope all who are waiting on new rigs and those who are really wanting to jump in the best of luck and safe and happy camping this season.

Miles & Charlie Windham
4 Grandchildren
2013 Roo 233s
2012 Dodge Ram 1500 Hemi
Retired and ready for Mtns.
Mr.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:11 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
MtnGuy's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia Blue Ridge Foothills
Posts: 9,272
Your fridge probably does not have a 12 volt function....that type of fridge is usually restricted to tent campers. Now that being said, your fridge does require 12 volts to operate the circuit board.

If your fridge is on automatic, once you unplug your shore power, the fridge will automatically switch to long as your tank valves are open. That is usually the only option that you have going down the road.

Now if you have a true 3 way fridge (12 volt, 120 volt, and propane), please disregard my above statements.


Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2006 Ford F150 Super Cab 4x4
2008 Surveyor 263
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:18 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
Triguy's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,951
Hi Miles,

You definitely have a two-way fridge.

To allow the fridge to choose between AC or Gas:

  • On/Off button is depressed to "on"
  • Gas button needs to be pushed in.
  • The "auto" light will light up and it will choose AC first and then gas if AC is unavailable.

If you wanted gas only and not AC:

  • On/off button is depressed to "on"
  • Gas button needs to be out.
  • The "auto" light will not light up.
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:38 AM   #4
Site Team - Lou
Herk7769's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 19,813
One addition.

When you switch to propane you need to keep an eye on the "check light" for a while.

If the fridge is already cold, the fridge will not fire the propane until the temperature starts to drop; THEN it will call for heat to the evaporator.

When it does; the check light will come on until the burner lights; and then it will go out.

IF the burner does not light for some reason; like no propane.
The check light will remain ON. This will be bad for your frozen food.

Best to make sure the furnace will light first! The furnace is the "gorilla in the room" when it comes to propane use. If IT works on propane so will everything else including the fridge. If it won't light or the stove top burners are low, you need to reset the flow limiters in your propane bottles. Turn off all propane appliances (including the fridge); turn the propane tank valves off; wait 1 minutes and CRACK them VERY slowly to pressurize the lines. Light one stove top burner to flush the air out of the lines. Light them all and make sure they stay lit and on high.

Fire up the furnace and make sure it lights. Then you can switch the fridge to propane and it should light just fine when needed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	913th 3rd Annual Picnic and Camper photos 033.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	46.4 KB
ID:	13407  

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:07 PM   #5
Junior Member
Mr.W's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 20
Thanks Ya'll

I sure thought it was a 3 way refrig. glad I got on here and ask. I have ran the furnace on way back from Ohio and have checked out the stove top and they work fine. When I got it home, I did not have it leveled from side to side so I did not try frig. out. Yesterday I leveled camper side to side and front to back. Had read that frig. needed to be level for running is reason I had not tried it. I will open propane, shut shore power and try after while. Thanks again for the help everyone. I sent a thanks but evidently it only went Herk. Am learning slowly !
Miles & Charlie Windham
4 Grandchildren
2013 Roo 233s
2012 Dodge Ram 1500 Hemi
Retired and ready for Mtns.
Mr.W is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.