Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-05-2014, 11:43 AM   #1

Roof maintenance question

Yesterday I picked my HTT ('04 Shamrock 232) from the local RV dealer. I had all the gas lines checked to be safe. I asked some general questions, as I am a TT newbie. One of the things I was concerned about was the roof. The tech confirmed that it was rubber. When I asked about sealing it, he said the RV folks wish people wouldn't do that because it makes it harder for them to do roof repairs when there is a problem. He said the best thing to is store it covered. Well, not everyone has that option. Then I asked about buying a cover. He said it would help. So, what to do? I was prepared to take preventative measures and seal everything up there. I have read so much about people doing this and it made perfect sense to me.
Thanks in advance for any advice
Cheffonade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 12:26 PM   #2

First of all, congratulations on your new camper and welcome to the forum. As for your roof, keep it clean. I wash my roof every time I wash the camper (maybe once a month, give or take). I use Thetford RV Rubber Roof Cleaner & Conditioner. (Some people prefer other products, I've had good luck with that one.) Go up on the roof every spring and caulk any cracks you see around any of the roof penetrations or edges with Dicor self leveling lap sealant. You can pick that up at Camping World or any RV supply place. Also re-caulk your windows, doors, and any other openings on the sides with a good mildew resistant caulk. I agree with your RV tech that it is best to keep them in covered storage, but if you can't do that, doing what I mentioned above should keep your roof in good shape.
2008 F-250 Lariat 4x4 6.4 Powerstroke
Firestone Ride-Rites w/cab control
mike06081969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 12:29 PM   #3

Thank you so much for your advice