Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2015, 12:43 PM   #11
Member
 
coryhynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by OntarioFireFighter View Post
If I understand, you're using a 30->15 adapter at the post; a 15A cord in the middle, then a 15->30 adapter at the trailer... You're overloading the 15A cord you're using the the middle. It's actually a pretty dangerous setup you have there.

Guessing the A/C compressor wasn't getting enough voltage to start, and was locking up... That's bad for the motor.

Without getting way into it - the smaller the wire, the more resistance; the more resistance, the greater the voltage drop. You also heat up the wire, which creates a risk of damage, or even fire...

Getting a 30A extension is the proper solution - or if you're going to use a 15A cord, don't use the 15-30 adapter, and plug into the 15A outlet at the post. At least then the breaker is properly sized, and will protect the cord. And if you are using a 15A cord, with or without the adapter, don't use the A/C - you're overloading the cord.
Good to know. Will try that next time. Thanks for the information.
__________________

__________________
coryhynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 12:44 PM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by coryhynes View Post
Cord is 25feet. Standard 15 amp cord.
If voltage at hydro pole is less then 110v you'll have issues.
If your ext cord is 14ga or 16ga as well you'll likely have issues.

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "15 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 12:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 594
Not going to work. When you are plugged in other things are also on and you will not have enough amps for the a/c to start up. And it dangerous. Get a good 20 amp extension cord and maybe it might work, or might not.
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 23lb
Toddupton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 12:48 PM   #14
Georgia Frog Rally 2018
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 10,639
Sounds like your shore power cord is to short, buy a 30amp extension cord made for this application. Or reposition camper.

CG are so inconsistent to placing power hook ups. I found with my new camper my 50 amp cord was shorter than my previously 30 amp TT. I guess FR thinks making there 50 amp shorter easier to handle but where they place the connection to the tt it is not the best location and ends up short mostt of the time so had to buy the extension. Later RJD
__________________
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days camped in 2016 58
Days camped so far 2017 62
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 01:04 PM   #15
clr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sherman Illinois
Posts: 661
The standard 15 amp extension cord is 16 or 18 gauge way to small to run an RV. A rv 30 amp cord is at least 10 gauge. Since the hydro (electric pole) has both 15 amp and 30 amp use the 30 amp cord that came with the camper and you will not have a problem.
__________________
clr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 02:10 PM   #16
Member
 
coryhynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by clr View Post
The standard 15 amp extension cord is 16 or 18 gauge way to small to run an RV. A rv 30 amp cord is at least 10 gauge. Since the hydro (electric pole) has both 15 amp and 30 amp use the 30 amp cord that came with the camper and you will not have a problem.
Attached is a pic of the adaptor from the camper. The 30 amp cords are quite expensive. Just wondering, what if I were to cut the adaptor and add a wire between, would that work? What gauge wire would I need? Just a shot in the dark, not sure if it is even possible.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1438020640851.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	84311  
__________________
coryhynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 02:17 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
OntarioFireFighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by coryhynes View Post
Attached is a pic of the adaptor from the camper. The 30 amp cords are quite expensive. Just wondering, what if I were to cut the adaptor and add a wire between, would that work? What gauge wire would I need? Just a shot in the dark, not sure if it is even possible.
Possible? Yes...

But for the price of 10/3 SJ or SO - which is the right cable to use for the cord, and the proper fittings, boxes, connectors, etc to do it right... you're cheaper to buy a proper one.

25 foot RV cord is $50 at Walmart; if you need one "now" - and can find them cheaper online, if you can wait a bit for it to show up.
__________________
2014 Grey Wolf 28BH, behind a 2015 F350 Diesel Crew Cab

Nights Camped 2016: 44

Nights Booked 2017: 11
Nights Camped 2017: 6
OntarioFireFighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 02:24 PM   #18
Member
 
coryhynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by OntarioFireFighter View Post
Possible? Yes...

But for the price of 10/3 SJ or SO - which is the right cable to use for the cord, and the proper fittings, boxes, connectors, etc to do it right... you're cheaper to buy a proper one.

25 foot RV cord is $50 at Walmart; if you need one "now" - and can find them cheaper online, if you can wait a bit for it to show up.
Thanks. Will check Walmart.
__________________
coryhynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 02:29 PM   #19
clr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sherman Illinois
Posts: 661
I concur with ontariofirefighter. From your picture it looks like you have a 30 amp male on the end of you dog bone going to the RV with a twist lock plug on the other end. Buy a 30 amp RV extension cord with a male on one end and female on the other end. Remove the 30 to 15 adapter and old ext cord from the dog bone. Plug your new rv ext cord into the dog bone directly and plug the other end into the 30 hydro on the pole. You are then properly wired and everything in the RV should now work much better.
__________________
clr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 02:32 PM   #20
Member
 
coryhynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by clr View Post
I concur with ontariofirefighter. From your picture it looks like you have a 30 amp male on the end of you dog bone going to the RV with a twist lock plug on the other end. Buy a 30 amp RV extension cord with a male on one end and female on the other end. Remove the 30 to 15 adapter and old ext cord from the dog bone. Plug your new rv ext cord into the dog bone directly and plug the other end into the 30 hydro on the pole. You are then properly wired and everything in the RV should now work much better.
Great idea
__________________

__________________
coryhynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, roo, roof

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.