Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2013, 10:22 AM   #1

Turning on the Heater

This is my first time camping when it's cold outside, so I have never used the heater in my camper which is a Shamrock 233S model. We are running everything on electric, however I know there is a panel on the outside of our camper but I do not remember what needs to be done in order to turn the heater on. Leave it to me to forget everything we were taught in our walk through. Any assistance you can give would be greatly appreciated!
kasm4kidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 10:24 AM   #2
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasm4kidz View Post
This is my first time camping when it's cold outside, so I have never used the heater in my camper which is a Shamrock 233S model. We are running everything on electric, however I know there is a panel on the outside of our camper but I do not remember what needs to be done in order to turn the heater on. Leave it to me to forget everything we were taught in our walk through. Any assistance you can give would be greatly appreciated!
Are you talking about your furnace or your water heater?

The furnace runs off of propane and 12 volt. You don't have to be hooked to electricity to run the furnace....but you do have to have propane and a 12 volt power supply (battery..... or converter, which takes 120 volt electricity and converts it to 12 volt)

Many water heaters can run off of propane and then have a separate electric heating element also that can only be run off of 120 volt electricity. Some have a switch (see link below) to turn this element on that is accessed from outside the camper:

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ore-36197.html

A 72 hour hold in a psych unit is beginning to intrigue me as a potential vacation opportunity.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 10:27 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team