Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2019, 03:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Saugus, California
Posts: 21
30 amp Plug at Home?

Has anyone installed a 30 amp plug at home (if you keep your rig parked at home) for true shore power?

I keep a battery tender hooked up to my battery when we're parked at home. A couple of days before we leave on a trip, I disconnect the battery tender and use a dog leg to plug into a "regular" 110 outlet at my garage. I turn on the fridges, set the clocks on the microwave and stereo, and generally get stuff ready. The problem is, when we're getting ready to go or working inside our rig, it can get really hot. When we turn on the AC, it will run for a minute or two and then the GFCI on our garage outlet will trip. The rig is drawing too much juice. We want to be able to run the AC when we're tinkering inside or getting ready to go. Also, my teenagers like to hang out with friends and watch a movie in the rig when the cover is not on. They can't do that when the weather is warm.

Has anyone had an electrician install a 30 or 50 amp plug? Was it cost prohibitive? It it's more than a couple of hundred bucks I don't want to do it. I'm not experienced enough in electrical to do it myself.
__________________

EricEdwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 03:46 PM   #2
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19,482
Iím spending 2 weeks parked at my cousinís house. In preparation, I ordered a 30amp outlet and wire and sent it to their house. He went out and bought the right breaker and mounting mechanisms (for securing the wire and attaching the box to the side of the garage).

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5381.jpg
Views:	321
Size:	119.8 KB
ID:	213030

Cerrowire 25 ft. 10/2 UF-B Wire
Store SKU # 1003427621
Internet # 306295120
Unit Price $30.73


GE 30 Amp Temporary RV Power Outlet
Store SKU # 1000500043
Internet # 202307113
Unit Price $35.25
__________________

__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 03:48 PM   #3
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,416
Lots of folks have RV receptacles at home- both 30A and 50A.

One VERY STRONG WARNING--- it's a common MISTAKE that even licensed electricians make all the time.
A home RV 120 volt 30 Amp socket is very similar to the old fashioned 3 prong
240 Volt dryer socket. So similar that they get confused all the time.
If you plug your 30 A RV into a Dryer socket it WILL burn out a LOT of expensive stuff in your brand new trailer.
Make SURE your electrician knows that a 30 Amp RV socket is 120 Volts NOT 240!!

As far as cost is concerned I doubt you can get a licensed electrician to do it for $200. It totally depends on how far the RV outlet is from your home main panel.
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 03:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricEdwards View Post
Has anyone installed a 30 amp plug at home (if you keep your rig parked at home) for true shore power?

I keep a battery tender hooked up to my battery when we're parked at home. A couple of days before we leave on a trip, I disconnect the battery tender and use a dog leg to plug into a "regular" 110 outlet at my garage. I turn on the fridges, set the clocks on the microwave and stereo, and generally get stuff ready. The problem is, when we're getting ready to go or working inside our rig, it can get really hot. When we turn on the AC, it will run for a minute or two and then the GFCI on our garage outlet will trip. The rig is drawing too much juice. We want to be able to run the AC when we're tinkering inside or getting ready to go. Also, my teenagers like to hang out with friends and watch a movie in the rig when the cover is not on. They can't do that when the weather is warm.

Has anyone had an electrician install a 30 or 50 amp plug? Was it cost prohibitive? It it's more than a couple of hundred bucks I don't want to do it. I'm not experienced enough in electrical to do it myself.

Depending on the distance, the cost of materials could run a couple hundred.

The farther from the panel the larger the wire size required. I installed my own (grew up on a farm and learned enough about electricity to do it myself and even pass inspection) and have 3 #6 awg conductors in conduit running to my pad. Total run is around 80-90 feet (i forget). When I park I plug into a 30 amp receptacle on a post and can run EVERYTHING in my TT from this with voltage on the power panel showing nothing less than 119 volts.

I did the "extension cord" trick for too many years and after burning the ends off a few, and having to reset breakers I said "No More".

As for getting an electrician, shop around. Many qualified individuals are in business for themselves and don't charge as much as the "Yellow Page Companies".

In my state a homeowner can do his own electrical work and only has to purchase a "Safe Wiring Sticker" from local building department. When work is done they'll inspect and either show where corrections are needed or give you their blessing and leave. You do, however, need to know what you're doing with electricity. It's not all that hard as the basics are a lot like plumbing for water. Difference being a "leak" won't just make things wet, it could knock one on their keister or create a lot of smoke (with fire at it's worst).
__________________
Sami. my Shih-Tsu "Co-Pilot" R.I.P
Politically Incorrect since 1943
"Sometimes you're the dog, sometimes you're the tree"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 03:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
Lots of folks have RV receptacles at home- both 30A and 50A.

One VERY STRONG WARNING--- it's a common MISTAKE that even licensed electricians make all the time.
A home RV 120 volt 30 Amp socket is very similar to the old fashioned 3 prong
240 Volt dryer socket. So similar that they get confused all the time.

If you plug your 30 A RV into a Dryer socket it WILL burn out a LOT of expensive stuff in your brand new trailer.
Make SURE your electrician knows that a 30 Amp RV socket is 120 Volts NOT 240!!

As far as cost is concerned I doubt you can get a licensed electrician to do it for $200. It totally depends on how far the RV outlet is from your home main panel.
If a licensed electrician can't tell the difference between a blade and a "U-ground" (round prong) perhaps he should consider another career.
__________________
Sami. my Shih-Tsu "Co-Pilot" R.I.P
Politically Incorrect since 1943
"Sometimes you're the dog, sometimes you're the tree"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 03:54 PM   #6
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 10,950
There have been many discussions here on installing 30a/or 50a plugs at their homes.

As mentioned, it is a common mistake to wire these up incorrectly even by those who 'claim' to know.

These might help...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30-50 rv service.jpg
Views:	586
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	213034   Click image for larger version

Name:	50 amp rv service_03.JPG
Views:	636
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	213035   Click image for larger version

Name:	50 amp rv service_01.JPG
Views:	351
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	213036  
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=53
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 03:56 PM   #7
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 10,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanMike View Post
If a licensed electrician can't tell the difference between a blade and a "U-ground" (round prong) perhaps he should consider another career.
Agreed.... BUT... I know of at least a dozen reports here of Licensed Electricians wiring up R/V outlets incorrectly. !
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=53
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 04:11 PM   #8
"On the road again"
 
rjshiflet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Parker County Texas
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to rjshiflet
I ran a 30 amp circuit to my fifth wheel and we keep it plugged in full time at home. Keeps the fridge/freezer cold and we can run one A/C if we need to.
__________________

Robert & Estha Shiflet
Cardinal 3456RLX - '17 Ford F350 Lariat Ultimate - DRW w/B&W OEM Companion hitch
Nights Camping 2012 & 2013 & 2014 & 2015 & 2016 & 2017 & 2018: 834 ~ Nights Camping 2019: 118
rjshiflet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 04:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,478
To the OP, you may find that if you turn off the breaker to the GFCI outlet in you trailer that you can run on the garage outlet without tripping the garage GFCI.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 04:22 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Saugus, California
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
Lots of folks have RV receptacles at home- both 30A and 50A.

One VERY STRONG WARNING--- it's a common MISTAKE that even licensed electricians make all the time.
A home RV 120 volt 30 Amp socket is very similar to the old fashioned 3 prong
240 Volt dryer socket. So similar that they get confused all the time.
If you plug your 30 A RV into a Dryer socket it WILL burn out a LOT of expensive stuff in your brand new trailer.
Make SURE your electrician knows that a 30 Amp RV socket is 120 Volts NOT 240!!

As far as cost is concerned I doubt you can get a licensed electrician to do it for $200. It totally depends on how far the RV outlet is from your home main panel.
Thanks for that. At my former home, there was an old 240 outlet, that indeed looked very similar to a 30A plug.

The location of the 30A plug will be within 3 feet of the panel.
EricEdwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 04:31 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Saugus, California
Posts: 21
Thanks everyone. I have some ideas now on how to proceed.
EricEdwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 04:54 PM   #12
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 21,515
We keep a PDF file at this link that you can print out to hand the electrician to make sure there are no mistakes.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...d.php?p=231880
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Words are powerful.
Choose them good.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 05:40 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 1,571
Installed this just below my outside service panel for under $30:

__________________
2019 Coachmen Freedom Express 192RBS
2015 T12RBST Flagstaff Hardside

Disclaimer: The actual value of my "Two Cents" of advice varies just like a bitcoin.
Bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 05:48 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluepill View Post
Installed this just below my outside service panel for under $30:

Ideal if it's possible. No clearance near my service panel for a Moped, much less a TT.

Just add a zero to your cost for wire alone to get power to my pad.
__________________
Sami. my Shih-Tsu "Co-Pilot" R.I.P
Politically Incorrect since 1943
"Sometimes you're the dog, sometimes you're the tree"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 07:11 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Eastvale. CA
Posts: 284
If you're going to go through the trouble you might as well wire for 50A instead of 30A. You might upgrade RV's in the future and want the 50A. You can always adapt down to 30A.

I did my own. 50A box at Home Depot is $35, breaker is $10, plus I only needed a couple of feet of 6/4 stranded cable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190821_171003.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	103.8 KB
ID:	213048   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190821_170950.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	122.2 KB
ID:	213049  
woo10-210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 07:50 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4,579
Did my own 30A off my garage panel. Not a certified Electrician, but I stayed in a Holiday Inn Express once.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 12:14 PM   #17
Shelley
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 55
We use our MH as an extension of our home and had a licensed technician install our 30 amp. The cost will depend on if they have to dig a trench. Our trench was about 20 feet. The job was about $900, but worth it to us.
__________________
2017 MBS Forester 2401W
SBurson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 12:14 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Telstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 473
I installed a 50 amp outdoor box. Bought at Home Depot. They also have 30 amp ones. You will need to add an appropriate 240v breaker and use the correct wire size based on amp fairing an length of run. Use metallic conduit. Mine was easy because itís only 30í from the breaker box.
__________________
Gary and Donna
2005 Cardinal 33TS-LX
Trail Air pin box
Center Point suspension
2018 Ram Laramie 3500 6'4" box 2WD
Demco AutoSlide 18k
Telstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 12:30 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kansas
Posts: 42
I had an electrician install a 50 amp rv outlet at my home, we didn't need a trench and he supplied all of the parts. It cost me $395.
__________________
Randy and Jeannette
2017 FR Wildwood Heritage Glen 299RE
2019 Ford F-450 Lariat
jenandrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 01:00 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Vince and Charlette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Spring Valley OH
Posts: 720
Paid a licensed electrician to put in a 30 and a 50 amp outlet. The advantage was that I have a an external power box from the pole to the house with a whopping 300 amps. He just tapped into it adding the appropriate circuit breakers, ran the exterior shielded cable 40' and added two weatherproof outlets...$550!
__________________

__________________
2018 Berkshire 38A
Vince and Charlette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


×