Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2014, 08:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,360
It's all 110. The rv will normally be rated at usually 30 or 50 amp. A 30A service on a trailer will have a 30A main breaker and wiring to support it.

I think what you're getting at is you can plug a big window unit into a 15A plug in the house, why is this different? I don't really believe it is.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 08:28 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
FreddieMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 95
Exactly, I am not an electrician, I can understand not running the AC and multiple other devices. I like your strategy.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
FreddieMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 08:33 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,360
I'm not an electrician either, but I do know there are other factors such as a drop in voltage causing an increase in amp draw, or using too small of an extension cord resulting in the same.

I'm not really trying to contradict these other guys, just saying what's worked for me. Extra caution is always a good thing no matter what. Just keep a close eye on it.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 08:38 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 6,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreddieMac View Post
I have a standard 110 outlet at my home where I am going to park my RV. The RV has a 15000 BTU AC, can I run it when I plug in to my home?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Won't work. You can get a Electrician to come in and wire a 50AMP (just DO it cuz you WILL Upgrade ) receptacle for mmm $100 or so if you can't do it yourself. Then you are golden. Separate breaker and you will not overload your circuit!
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 242014 - 422015 - 56Jul 2016 - Fulltime
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 09:06 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
fast murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SD
Posts: 439
I love this advice "I'm not an electrician but I know what works for me." I am an electrician and I know what will eventually happen because we make good money doing service calls during the summer replacing receptacles and installing RV outlets. It's always got something to do with what their buddy did or whatever. Alot of things are at play here. Total wire length from the electrical service to your outlet, actual voltage at the electrical service to start with, length of the RV cord, length and size of any drop cords being used, condition of the plugs and receptacles (anything that is corroding or discoloring) and heck, whether the receptacles feeding the one you're using are wired using the feed-thru and stab-in connectors. Take a digital voltmeter and plug it into any 120V reveptacle inside the RV, set it for AC volts and hit the air conditioner. Watch that meter and remember that the convertor may or may not be on and the refrigerator may or may not be running. Bottom line, it's your stuff and you can do what you want.
__________________
2004 Wildcat 28BH
2012 Ram 2500 CCSB 6.7CTD
fast murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 08:20 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
FreddieMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 95
How much do you charge for the installation of this type of outlet?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
FreddieMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 08:35 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 689
I had my electrical outlet panel upgraded this spring and had a 30amp RV outlet in stalled guests.on the back of the house. Sure makes a difference. I use the TT as an extra bedroom when we have
__________________
2016 RAM 1500 - 2016 Keystone Laredo 265SRK
The road goes on forever and the party never ends.
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 09:39 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Mikegjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Orange Park Fl.
Posts: 1,326
Home Depot sells this 30 amp RV box $42.00. GE 30 Amp Temporary RV Power Outlet with Breaker-U013CP at The Home Depot

Installed one with a 30 amp and a 20 amp GFI breaker so I could also run power tools. I ordered it from Home Depot and installed it my self. I am not an electrician, but I am comfortable with doing the work safely. Checked the building codes for my area and made sure I complied with them.

If you have any doubt in your ability to work with electrical, don't do it and call a pro.

Will say the electrician wanted over $300.00 just for the box. The one I ordered from HD was $114.00.
GE 100 Amp 2-Space 2-Circuit 240 Volt Unmetered RV Outlet Box with 30 Amp and 20 Amp GCFI Circuit Protected Receptacles-GE1LU032SS at The Home Depot
__________________
2014 Solera 24R
USN Retired
Mikegjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 09:52 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreddieMac View Post
I find it all a bit strange that it will not work on a 110 outlet because you can get a 15,000 BTU window unit on a house. But, I assume it has something to do with the wiring on the RV.
I think it has lots to with new household models are very energy efficient, "star compliant" to meet new Govt. Std, They draw down around 9-10 amps compared to 12-14. RV units are more compact with smaller coolers and condensers. With a 15 max amp circuit available.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 11:45 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
FreddieMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 95
I have done basic electrical work at my house including changing breakers in my panel, changing fans and lights, etc. I am sure I could do it myself without an issue. I just need to do all my research on how it is done. I will probably get a couple of quotes from some pros to see what they would charge. This is no more than an hour or two hour of work for a trained professional. I may call my cousin and pay him, he is a professional electrician.
__________________

__________________
FreddieMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.