Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2011, 08:33 PM   #1

Do I need to install plug in bed of truck

I am picking up my first 5er next month and was wondering if the electrical connector on a 5th wheel is located so I can plug into the bumper plug on my truck or will I need to either install a bed mounted plug or use an extension to go from the existing bumper plug to the trailer plug. Don't want to spend extra $$ if I don't have to.

Thanks for the help,
Dan
dan747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 08:51 PM   #2

I am no expert in 5th wheels but my parents owned one and they had there plug mounted on one of the wheel well humps in there bed - if I remember correctly it was the Drivers side
you could always call the dealer and ask them how long the cable is - not sure if it would work plugged in at the bumper or not due to the angle and possible length since it would need slack when making turns - if they make an extension cable for the 7 oin plug I dont see why it cant be done though
USMC 91 - 95 - F/A-18 Aviation Ordnance
sherdep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 08:56 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sherdep View Post
I am no expert in 5th wheels but my parents owned one and they had there plug mounted on one of the wheel well humps in there bed - if I remember correctly it was the Drivers side
you could always call the dealer and ask them how long the cable is - not sure if it would work plugged in at the bumper or not due to the angle and possible length since it would need slack when making turns - if they make an extension cable for the 7 oin plug I dont see why it cant be done though
Thanks for the help. I going to have to find out how long the plug wire is and where it comes off the trailer.
dan
Old 02-10-2011, 09:03 PM   #4

Send a message via Skype™ to scubieman