Old 08-19-2015, 12:10 PM   #1

Does your 5th wheel hitch make noise?

I have lots of experience with bumper pulls and know about all the creaking and noise you get from the hitches. Even my last bumper pull with a Propride made noises. Since this is my first 5er was just wondering the noise level you are experiencing if any. I have a Reese Revolution pin box with a 16k Reese Pro hitch. Some noise mostly on turns but wondering if it's normal.
I can't hear it with the windows closed only when open. I use lithium grease because Reese says not to use a teflon pad with the Revolution/Sidewinder because it will not hook up properly. I usually add grease every time I tow especially on both sides of the wedge. I also wipe off the old grease on the flat surfaces and reapply every few trips too. I just wanted assurance that I wasn't experiencing noise that no one else had. Chucking has not really been a problem so that's not the noise I was referring to.

Old 08-19-2015, 12:31 PM   #2

I use WD-40 Silicone on the moving parts of my hitch head and lube pad between it and the king pin plate.

Yes there is some noise especially if I am moving slow and turning into or out of a site.

Old 08-19-2015, 12:59 PM   #3

We have the exact same Reese Rev pin box and 16 K hitch on our Rockwood 5. We are now on our 3rd pin box. the first one squeaked and creaked but made a definite loud clunk when turning sharp at low speeds. The dealer replaced it with another that was not painted properly and started rusting within 2 weeks outside. This one was replaced and we were told it was apparently defective as well. Check forum member B n B's remarks about these hitches having issues and Reese replacing them at the Goshen rally. you could PM him for info
I would have your s checked as there appears to be issues
2015 Rockwood 8285IKWS Diamond
Jokes about German sausage are the wurst
French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2015, 01:03 PM   #4

Forest River Forums - View Profile: B and B