Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-17-2006, 06:14 PM   #1
Rubysamm

Fifth Wheel Towing

I have some experience towing horse trailers and travel trailers. I never did like the feel of sway from said trailers.
How do the fifth wheel trailers handle? I currently drive a 31' class c and am thinking about going with a fifth wheel. Its not like you can "take one for a road test".
rubysamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 06:20 PM   #2

Fifth wheels pull far superior to a tag trailer IMHO. I have had both and will never go back to a tag. You can set a tag up to pull a lot better but it will cost much $$$$. If I were you I would go to a dealership and tell them youwant to test pull a couple of trailers, Use their truck and pick a 5th and a comperable tag and take them for a pull. If the dealership says no, then they don't want your busness, find another dealership.
Cheers
Bear

2000 Volvo 660 D12 425 hp 1550 torque 15 speed, Trailer Saver air ride hitch. 2006 Canadian Sport 385 RLTS 40'10" triple slide, triple axle 5'er toybox, 300 watts solar, 3000 watt inverter, Onan 5500 Marques Platnum. 1998 Polaris 300 Explorer 4X4 quad, 2003 Polaris 700 Sportsman 4X4 quad, 1994 Jeep YJ "TOAD" 3" lift 31" ProComp Mud Terrain tires

https://community.webshots.com/user/Bears319

https://www.picturetrail.com/bears319

Mission Statement : ZZZZzzzzz
Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 06:29 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubysamm
I have some experience towing horse trailers and travel trailers. I never did like the feel of sway from said trailers.
How do the fifth wheel trailers handle? I currently drive a 31' class c and am thinking about going with a fifth wheel. Its not like you can "take one for a road test".
rubysamm,