Old 01-20-2011, 09:45 AM   #1
Cool FR XLR Electrical

H, I'm new to this FR forum , and not sure if this is where I should be to ask a question. I just bought a new 2011 FR XLR with 50 amp. power. My question is if the campground pedestal is wired at 220 volts, and my dealer says my RV dist. panl. is 110 volts, do I have one leg of the RV cord capped off before it connects to the RV pnl. or is it 220volts at the pnl. with a split bus pnl. and one leg wired for the regular main loads and the other leg for higher load demands.
Thanks much,Earl

zram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:11 AM   #2
CLASS "A" Senior Member
You will be ok. The Voltage at the campground will be a double pole 50 amp breaker but will also have a neutral with it. Basically it's (2) 50 amp single 120 volt feeds. That's why there are 4 prongs on the end of the cord.
240volt has no neutral, just a ground.

Click image for larger version

Name:	!B+ndg5!!2k~$(KGrHqEOKnIEz1IRiFcHBN!PEHKcYQ~~_12.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	4256
This is a typical RV 50 amp Plug. 4 prongs ( 2 power, 1 neutral, 1 ground)

Name:   3d99_12.jpg
Views: 288
Size:  2.7 KB
This is a typical 50 amp Plug for a welder. 3 prongs ( 2 power, 1 ground)

2007 Georgetown 370TS

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 03:11 PM   #3
Hello and thanks for a quick reply, but my question was if the campground feed is 220v and the RV panel is 110v, where does the change in voltage occur? in the shore cord? or at the panel?......E.
Old 01-20-2011, 04:51 PM   #4