Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-09-2008, 08:21 PM   #1

Help on towing

First of all I would like to say that this has been an informative site to go to.

So here's my problem (I think). I'm new to the TT community and I just purchased a 30ft Salem LE trailer with a weight of 6575lbs. I tow the trailer with a F150 with GVWR of 6950lbs. My question is can I tow this? I know it the tongue weight of has allot to do with this, but if I can only pull the trailer with myself and a half tank of gas this really do me no good. Please advise.

Thanks
mudracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 07:07 AM   #2

Year of the truck...engine, is that the gvwr of the trailer or the empty weight?

If you already have the "toys" then you just need to do some work to get it setup to tow.
HookupAndGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 08:48 AM   #3

2004 F150 4.6L

The trailer:
Hitch weight 980lbs
Axel weight 6430lbs
Dry ship weight 6575lbs
GVWR 11,140lbs
Old 08-10-2008, 12:13 PM   #4
Site Team

I'm afraid you won't be happy and neither will your TV. If the posted dry weight is 6575 the ready to camp weight will be over 7000lbs. I'd say closer to 7500lbs. Your TW will likely be 1100 to 1200lbs. I hate to be the bearer of bad news but you need at least a 250/2500 TV to tow that RV. Since you already have it and the TV you'll find out how it does for you soon.
Old 08-10-2008, 01:14 PM   #5

Ouch....yes, the 4.6L AND the very heavy trailer definitely isn't a great combination. We had an Expy w/ 4.6L and towed a Rockwood 2601, and it did that pretty good. But, went up to the Expy with the 5.4L to tow the bigger 8318.

But, as Bama said, you'll soon discover that what you have will really have to work. Hopefully you are on reasonably flat ground.

Good luck!
HookupAndGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 03:19 PM   #6
AKA Bluebird