Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2010, 10:36 AM   #1

Hughes Autoformer

I originally purchased my first Hughes Autoformer model 2130 with the lights on the side back in 1993. Being an electrician by trade I understood how low voltage would damage any electronics that needed 120 volt AC to run or convert to DC power.

You see if you load stays constant and your voltage decreases then amperage/current with increase in exact oposite proportion as to voltage. Ohms Law E=I x R, I = P/E

Load is our Power Converter. (Example only) It uses 120 volts at 5 amp. which is 600 watts.
This is a solid state device and converts 120 volts AC to DC volatge to power lights, AC thermostat controls, Refrigerator controls, etc.

If the shore power drops to 110 volts the amperage/current to run that device increases from 5 amp to 5.45 amps

If the shore power drops to 100 volts the amperage/current to run that device increases from 5 amp to 6 amps.

Also in conjunction with the lower voltage and higher amperage you have more heat and in many cases this also contibutes to solid state device failures.

With my new trailer I looking to buy the new Hughes RV430 model that has a 3 stage boost of 5%, 10% and 15%. It is a very expensive device but have you ever burnt up your refrigerator control board? Just the board replacement is about $250. Also consider that if you have your flat screen TV on or Microwave oven those also could fail over time from low voltage conditions.

I'm sure this will generate many questions and I'm here to help.

Oh If you have a ground fault or surge protection device that is not the same subject I'm speaking about.

So let the games begin by letting us know what you are using to correct low voltage in your rigs.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:57 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou