Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2010, 11:36 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Hughes Autoformer

I originally purchased my first Hughes Autoformer model 2130 with the lights on the side back in 1993. Being an electrician by trade I understood how low voltage would damage any electronics that needed 120 volt AC to run or convert to DC power.

You see if you load stays constant and your voltage decreases then amperage/current with increase in exact oposite proportion as to voltage. Ohms Law E=I x R, I = P/E

Load is our Power Converter. (Example only) It uses 120 volts at 5 amp. which is 600 watts.
This is a solid state device and converts 120 volts AC to DC volatge to power lights, AC thermostat controls, Refrigerator controls, etc.

If the shore power drops to 110 volts the amperage/current to run that device increases from 5 amp to 5.45 amps

If the shore power drops to 100 volts the amperage/current to run that device increases from 5 amp to 6 amps.

Also in conjunction with the lower voltage and higher amperage you have more heat and in many cases this also contibutes to solid state device failures.

With my new trailer I looking to buy the new Hughes RV430 model that has a 3 stage boost of 5%, 10% and 15%. It is a very expensive device but have you ever burnt up your refrigerator control board? Just the board replacement is about $250. Also consider that if you have your flat screen TV on or Microwave oven those also could fail over time from low voltage conditions.

I'm sure this will generate many questions and I'm here to help.

Oh If you have a ground fault or surge protection device that is not the same subject I'm speaking about.

So let the games begin by letting us know what you are using to correct low voltage in your rigs.
__________________

__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 12:57 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
I talked at length with a neighbor at the KOA in Bellefonte PA this past week who had one. He LOVED it and would never hook up without it. Even though our power at the KOA was solid 120 the entire time, he still hooked it up. His logic was that you never know when a voltage fluctuation will result from events in the local area.

I am shopping for one now. The only issue I am struggling with is; do I buy a 50 amp or 30 amp one. My needs right now indicate a 30 amp job, but who know what I will be using "tomorrow."
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 01:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
I talked at length with a neighbor at the KOA in Bellefonte PA this past week who had one. He LOVED it and would never hook up without it. Even though our power at the KOA was solid 120 the entire time, he still hooked it up. His logic was that you never know when a voltage fluctuation will result from events in the local area.

I am shopping for one now. The only issue I am struggling with is; do I buy a 50 amp or 30 amp one. My needs right now indicate a 30 amp job, but who know what I will be using "tomorrow."
I would say if you have a 30 amp service now that's all you need.
Remember that the old model 30 amp is RV2130 has one boost of 10% and the new model with 3 stages of 5%, 10% and 15%
.
The older model is going for $379 and used $200 to $250
The newer RV430 is going for $439. I'm watching the price and hope it goes down before I need to buy.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 02:11 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
thanks for the tip on the model number. I will fire up my PayPal and look in ernest.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 08:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
it's been years sense i looked at the workings of an autotransformer. then it was only briefly.
i'm assuming u would need a 220 input with two 110 outputs for the 50 amp (assuming such an animal exist...i seem to remember an auto transformor was a single winding transformer with multipal taps....it has been a few years). or you would get two 50 amp and put one on each leg. (would only need one for 30 amp...could make it a 50 and add another later) the two would also work if u happened to be on the same phase for ur 50 amp...ie u plugged in one of those adapters to two sources to supply to both legs.
Now u've sparked my curiosity, when i get back to Lake Charles, i'm going to have to find my books and look it up.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 03:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 156
We use a 10% boost, 30A model. We also religiously use a volt meter plugged into one of our wall outlets to monitor our voltage.

In the Texas heat, there many times when the AC usage at the house, park, resort drives down the voltage in the system and I worry about my hookup. I was surprised how often the Autotransforer was in boost mode.

Heavy. Expensive. But worth it.
__________________
Nights camped in 2010 = 21 nights

2008 Chevy CCab 5.3L 4WD Z71
2008 FR Surveyor 291
Champion Genset
Slpybear, Mrs Slpybear, Three Cubs
slpybeartx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 04:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Boyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iron River, MI
Posts: 378
Where has all the power gone?

Great thread, Iggy. Somewhere in my old, foggy brain I've touched on all this stuff, pre-RV'ing, but never thought to.....well, never thought. I just "assumed" (and you know where that leads) all shore power was up to snuff. From now on I'll be hooking up my volt-meter when we come in from the boonies and plug into the grid. If I find a great variance in supplied shore power, I'll pop for one of those 30 Amp modlels. Question: Is the Hughs Autoformer RV430 wired-in/plugged-in before or after the main supply?

Thanks again for the "heads-up."
__________________
"If everything seems to be going well, look around, you've obviously overlooked something."
Boyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:13 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
The Hughes RV2130 is a single stage auto-transformer with 10% boost.

HUGHES AUTOFORMER RV2130: eBay Motors (item 330431255037 end time Oct-04-10 09:41:06 PDT)

The Franks auto-transformer is a two stage auto-transformer with an 8% and 16% boost.

eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices

They also make a 50 amp model.

The Hughes RV430 (the new one) is a three stage auto-transformer with a 5%, 10% and 15%

Hughes Autoformers ::

The new Hughes 50 AMP unit is an RV450

Hughes Autoformers ::

I have been watching them on Ebay waiting to hit the lottery.

They go between shore power and the camper. They can be permanently mounted inside with a little work. Just mount so the "boost on" lights are visible.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Hatchet58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tacoma Wa
Posts: 182
okey, learned something New today, Now I have to tell the Wife it would be in our Best Interest to pick one up
__________________

Hatchet
Chevy 2500HD Diesel
07 SandPiper F305


Days camped 2011 "3" so far,
Hatchet58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 09:16 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
ok, lets see how i can ask if i can run an input (50 amp service) that has 220 volts between the two hots and 110 from each ground or 0 volts between the 2 hots but 110 from each to ground, will one autotransformer work (i'm trying to see in my mind how they would connect that internally) or will i need two?

Sometimes i plugg in to a 50 amp service. other times i adapt from one 30 to the double 50. then there times that i plugg into two circuits and supply the 50 amp socket that i plug my 50 amp cable into. (one plug goes to one of the 50 amp hots and the other goes to the other 50 amp hot. phase between the hots on this set up can either be 0 or 180. i asked one of the manufactures this question and still hearing the tumble weed outside.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5th wheel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.