Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-15-2015, 06:07 AM   #1

Objective Comparison: Covered Storage vs. Uncovered Storage

I'm relatively new to the RV world. I plan to purchase a 30' travel trailer in the $25-30K range and I'm in the process of deciding between covered storage and uncovered storage. I've seen a lot of discussions on this forum and other online forums concerning pros and cons of each. I've seen a lot of posts recommending covered storage for its protective benefits, but I'm interested in quantifying the pros and cons of each from an objective standpoint. For example, uncovered storage may save $1,000 per year, but is there a trade-off in increased maintenance concerning the roof and other components, equaling or exceeding the $1,000 per year savings of uncovered storage? I'd like to guide the discussion by establishing the parameters below:

Uncovered Storage Option
---------------------------------
- Trailer uncovered, but has full shade for about 1/2 of the day
- On average, exposed to direct sun about 1/3 to 1/2 of the day
- Some trees nearby resulting in potential for sap, leaves, debris, etc.
- No additional RV cover present
- Tires covered with protective cover
- $50/mo ($600/yr)

Covered Storage Option
---------------------------------
- Trailer parked under metal roof with overhang
- Trailer surrounded by other trailers on sides and back, so only minimal exposure to sun and elements on front nose/tongue part of day
- Tires covered with protective cover
- $150/mo (1,800/yr)

In both options let's establish the climate as southeastern USA, hot summers with a lot of sun and mild to moderate winters with a few days of transient snow. Now that the options are established, I'd like to get feedback on the differences of annual maintenance costs and 7-10 year resale value anticipated based on the two options described above.