Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-24-2019, 06:42 PM   #1

Onan generator

Hi Just asking if anybody has hooked a Onan generator before.Our fifth wheel has the switch and hour meter inside for a Onan generator already.I can’t get no power to the plug end that plugs into the generator.We are plugged into power so would that make a difference.Its a used 3600 Onan LP generator so would like to see if it will turn over,etc.I don’t see a oil filter so would I only have to cut out for the oil plug to drain oil and for the exhaust pipe?I seen some pics that have a box build around the generator.Would I have to do that?We live in our fifth wheel so hard to take it to a rv place.I am new at this so any help would be appropriated Thanks in advance
hittheroadgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:02 PM   #2

I'm kinda lost on your question. But if you have one, some do not have a transfer switch, you have to plug your power cord into them. If you have a transfer switch you don't have to do that step. Is that what you are asking, or am I being dumb?

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:08 PM   #3

Your camper should have knock put spot(big square steel plate)where the generator sits,for your oil drain and filter underneath also that's where your exhaust pipe will exit,should have electrical box near by where you hard wire the generator.
Matt sr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:15 PM   #4