Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2016, 08:49 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 323
Having 50 amp sites for solder parks is still not a thing they have (huge dollar upgrade) but most updated (newer) parks all have 50 amp even state and National parks have needed to upgrade as so many (if not most) coaches today come with 50 amp as there is so much draw from all the goodies we want in the coach. As for how near is it, i have owned a extension cord for 20 yrs and used it maybe 3 times so not much need for that.
Hope this helps and Happy Camping
__________________

__________________
B.Smith
2010 Cedar Creek Silverback 35ts
2001 GMC 2500HD w/ Allison & 8.1
silverback 35ts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 09:08 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
The park I am going to this weekend has 15 amp and some 30 amp sites. It is going to be cool so no need for AC but there are still some nice parks with crummy power. We used to run 15 k AC on 15 amp time delay fuse. Worked.
__________________

__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 01:58 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
raspivey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brazoria County, Texas
Posts: 1,362
I've been curious about this myself. I'm having 50A and a second AC put on the 2703...I hesitated, but July and Aug get into the upper 90's here and the 15K on my 2104 works HARD to keep up. I'll run the 15K at the house on 15A and haven't had a problem as long as I don't use the microwave and the electric hot water. I was hoping I could get away with both ACs on 30A for initial cool down if I had to, provided they don't try to start up at the same time.
__________________
2015 Chevy Silverado LTZ - HD tow package
2017 Rockwood 2703WS Emerald Edition
raspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 02:17 PM   #24
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
size and 50 amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by raspivey View Post
I've been curious about this myself. I'm having 50A and a second AC put on the 2703...I hesitated, but July and Aug get into the upper 90's here and the 15K on my 2104 works HARD to keep up. I'll run the 15K at the house on 15A and haven't had a problem as long as I don't use the microwave and the electric hot water. I was hoping I could get away with both ACs on 30A for initial cool down if I had to, provided they don't try to start up at the same time.


No you cannot run two a/c unit on 30 amp
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 02:26 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 484
Forty plus feet can be a challenge in state parks but I've had no length issues in commercial CGs.
__________________
phillyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 09:57 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
head gamez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: W-S NC
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by raspivey View Post
I've been curious about this myself. I'm having 50A and a second AC put on the 2703...I hesitated, but July and Aug get into the upper 90's here and the 15K on my 2104 works HARD to keep up. I'll run the 15K at the house on 15A and haven't had a problem as long as I don't use the microwave and the electric hot water. I was hoping I could get away with both ACs on 30A for initial cool down if I had to, provided they don't try to start up at the same time.

You can run two ACs on 30 amp service, but you will need an energy management system to do it reliably. My previous RV (2002 Fleetwood Expedition) was 30 amp with two ACs. It had an intelitech EMS that would shed loads when needed. Turn the microwave on, and it would shed the compressor of the rear AC until the microwave stopped. With no other significant loads (microwave, water heater, washer / dryer) both ACs ran fine. It was trouble free for us, and allowed the coach to stay cool on the 100 degree Myrtle Beach days.


2016 Sandpiper 376BHOK
2500HD Chevrolet

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
head gamez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 11:38 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint George, KS
Posts: 59
I want one

Can we go to an RV place and get one of these installed on our Sandpipers, or how hard are they to install? (An EMS) Could my son in law install it? We may be camping with our 50 amp Sandpiper where there is only 30 amp this summer and I'd sure like to be able to use both air conditioners.
__________________
Grandma camping with the kids and grandkids
(I bought the RV, so they have to let me camp)
2014 Sandpiper 376BHOK 5th Wheel (Picked up 5/6/13 from RV Wholesalers)
2006 Chevy Silverado 2500 Crew Cab 4x4 Diesel with airbags added (pulls great)
B&W Companion Hitch
Nitecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 07:38 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
head gamez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: W-S NC
Posts: 431
To be honest, I'm not sure what is even out there. Intelitech has a website, but it looks like they only sell to dealers. A Google search showed some other hits as well.

I'm not sure if it is practical to install after the fact, or even if a RV service center would do it.


2016 Sandpiper 376BHOK
2500HD Chevrolet

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
head gamez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.