Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-25-2009, 04:54 PM   #1

Truck Rail Clearance in Tight Turns

I just took delivery on my 2010 Sabre 31REDS and attached it to my 2010 Ram 250HD diesel with PullRight SuperGlide 18K hitch. Since I had a separate dealer install the hitch, the RV dealer balked at adding the receiver plate on the Sabre pin box (but eventually did it) and then just looked puzzled when I showed that the pin box trim would scrape the truck bed rail in a tight turn. The RV dealer said it was the fault of the hitch installer, the hitch installer said it was the proper installation for my truck and I should drop the pin box extender to gain a few inches. The RV dealer says this would destroy the handling of the trailer and would not do it and turned his back on me.

I am new to all of this and would like some thoughts from those who have been through this particular mill before. Thanks.
poodlepeople is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:08 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by poodlepeople View Post
I just took delivery on my 2010 Sabre 31REDS and attached it to my 2010 Ram 250HD diesel with PullRight SuperGlide 18K hitch. Since I had a separate dealer install the hitch, the RV dealer balked at adding the receiver plate on the Sabre pin box (but eventually did it) and then just looked puzzled when I showed that the pin box trim would scrape the truck bed rail in a tight turn. The RV dealer said it was the fault of the hitch installer, the hitch installer said it was the proper installation for my truck and I should drop the pin box extender to gain a few inches. The RV dealer says this would destroy the handling of the trailer and would not do it and turned his back on me.

I am new to all of this and would like some thoughts from those who have been through this particular mill before. Thanks.