Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-30-2009, 11:47 PM   #1

weight?

I am a newbie with a 50 mile trip on the Calif. coast dry camping and a trip to Vegas staying at Sam's Town. So far everything has gone according to the book. (I know there is no book) Well, I did find a tree that jumped out and scratched me on the beach trip.

We purchased a 2009 Ford F250 diesel and a Cardinal 3625RT XL. The truck seems to handle the load very well, but it does drop 2 or 3 inches with the load. Is this normal? One of the service people at the dealer says I should consider air bags. I am new and don't know if I am being up-sold or need extra help with the weight?

Help

Big Bird
Big bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 12:25 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to the forum! Real nice trailer!

I checked the specs on Forest River's site...this trailer is listed as 2515lbs dry pin weight. Depending how much you loaded in the trailer and where, the actual pin weight might be closer to 3000lbs. That's a lot of weight for your F250...you may be close or even over the rear axle rating. I'm not sure what the GCWR rating is for your F250 (20,000?)...with the trailer's dry weight of 12,295 and GVWR of 16,195lbs you may also be over that. You should get your set-up scaled to see where you are weight-wise.

Hopefully our 5th wheel owners will provide more info. If the rear suspension is dropping 3 inches, you may be onto the bump stops on rough pavement. The air bags will help that situation.

Dave

Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 07:14 AM   #3

Yes I would get the air bags to level the truck out.
cardinal4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 05:24 AM   #4