Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-27-2015, 05:39 PM   #1

I 70 through Denver and Rockies in January

Our plan: Leave Minnesota and meet up with friends in Las Vegas - 24' Sunseeker MBS diesel towing a 4WD CRV. Plan to watch the weather closely across the plains and disconnect the CRV in Denver. If the forecast is bad there head south to Albuquerque. We have heard I 70 is the most scenic. I have many years of experience driving in snow. Is I 70 an option in January?
SSmbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 05:58 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSmbs View Post
Our plan: Leave Minnesota and meet up with friends in Las Vegas - 24' Sunseeker MBS diesel towing a 4WD CRV. Plan to watch the weather closely across the plains and disconnect the CRV in Denver. If the forecast is bad there head south to Albuquerque. We have heard I 70 is the most scenic. I have many years of experience driving in snow. Is I 70 an option in January?
Sure it's doable, just watch the weather. Who told you 70 was scenic?....

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 06:10 PM   #3
Always Learning

Based on the signs that we saw, it seems like you are required to have chains in the vehicle with you during the fall/winter months. I went through there in very early October and didn't have them, but the weather was fine. I'm know I've read of it being closed down a couple of times for foul weather since then (in fact, just a couple of weeks after we went through there).

I can't tell you if it was scenic or not, we left Colorado Springs in the dark and drove to Avon, CO. We didn't really see anything outside of the highway.
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 06:26 PM   #4