Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-06-2014, 01:49 PM   #1
dch

Question 2007 Tundra 4.7 Towing Capacity

I'm a newbie considering a Salem TT with listed dry weight of 6500. Tundra manual and online research shows this 2007 Tundra 4.7 4X4 can handle 7800 lbs. of towing. Still, can't seem to locate a good resource to calculate all the weight variables. Some show I'm fine with this much trailer others show it as marginal once I add in cargo. Anyone have a solid calculator to recommend? I don't want to kill my truck or anyone else!
dch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 02:04 PM   #2
Site Team

I pulled a 4500# TT (dry weight) with tundra 4.7L. Fine on level road but heavy strain on hills and in high head winds. Couldn't get over 40mph with 30mph headwind in nm.

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 03:37 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by dch View Post
I'm a newbie considering a Salem TT with listed dry weight of 6500. Tundra manual and online research shows this 2007 Tundra 4.7 4X4 can handle 7800 lbs. of towing. Still, can't seem to locate a good resource to calculate all the weight variables. Some show I'm fine with this much trailer others show it as marginal once I add in cargo. Anyone have a solid calculator to recommend? I don't want to kill my truck or anyone else!