Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2015, 10:14 PM   #1

Black water overflow

I am new to RV.... I filled my black water as I was told to fill it before dumping . I filled it and noticed there was water leaking under my RV. The water appeared to be clear with no odor. After dumping the black water I have not noticed any more leaking. Is there an overflow? Why did water leak from the bottom when I filled the black water? I have a 2010 forest river travel trailer. Any helpful advise is appreciated as I am very new to this and not mechchanilly inclined. Thank you
violet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 10:37 PM   #2
Just a member

Quote:
Originally Posted by violet View Post
Is there an overflow? Why did water leak from the bottom when I filled the black water? I have a 2010 forest river travel trailer. Any helpful advise is appreciated as I am very new to this and not mechanically inclined. Thank you
You should have a vent for the BWT on the roof of the TT. Some unfortunate folks have discovered that the vent will also act as a nasty (smelly) overflow under certain conditions. It was never intended for that purpose. If your leak is indeed coming from the BWT, then I would suspect some compromised plumping or perhaps one of the level sensors leaking. You'll need to expose as much of the BWT as possible, fill it with H2O, and start searching with a good light source for the water's point of exit.

kandl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 09:25 AM   #3