Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2016, 09:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
breaker overload

hi all
I'm a new rv owner and everytime I hook up an extension cord from rv to house, it trips our breaker. is there something I can buy ie converter of sorts. don't like running the generator all night to keep the rv cool and fridge cold. thank you

mrpancho01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2016, 09:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
grhodes50's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 2,592
Do you have 30 amp service at your house? Are you using a 30 amp extension cord?
If not that would be your problem. You can't run the AC on a house 20 amp plugin.


Gary & Trish
"PT Crew Member Since 11/2010"
2017 Prime Time Crusader 315RST TE 6.0 : 2007 Flagstaff 206ST MAC Series
2012 F-250 Lariat : FX4 : CC : SB : 6.7L Diesel : 3/55 Gears

2016 Nights Camped - 9
grhodes50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2016, 09:43 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Thank you, that makes sense
mrpancho01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2016, 10:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
slide5r4fun's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 282
More than likely you're plugging into an outlet protected by a GFCI and that will immediately trip the breaker. I wouldn't recommend running the a/c unless you're on a 30 amp circuit. You could always run the fridge on propane.
Kevin & Janine
2006 Dodge 2500 Megacab CTD 2WD
2012 Palomino Sabre 32RCTS
Pullrite Superglide 16K Hitch
slide5r4fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 05:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
davel1971's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,131
you can run the fridge, but make sure everything else is off. AC, water heater, etc. Fridge uses very little power.
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 06:09 AM   #6
Usually Confused Member
emm-dee's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 926
I have a LQ horse trailer with a 13.5 AC unit that has been hooked up to a 20 amp receptacle for years with no problem. I use a 100 ft. 12 gauge cord and the only time the breaker trips is if I try to run the second AC or use a large power tool on the same circuit. Is your AC a 15k unit?
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 08:58 AM   #7
Head Rambler
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,283
Emm-dee - Does your trailer have a converter, fridge that runs on 120 volts or an electric water heater? If not that may be the difference between your setup and the OP's. With a 100' 12ga extension cord at 15 amps your voltage drop is right at 5%. I try to limit the voltage drop to 3%, but it's obviously working for you.

mrpancho01 - If you need to keep the fridge cold, but can do without the A/C, you could get a heavy duty (12ga or bigger) extension cord and keep the A/C and electric water heater off and it would probably run the converter and refrigerator.

If you need both A/C and fridge, your best bet is to have a dedicated 30 amp (or 50 amp) circuit ran just for the RV.
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 11:38 AM   #8
Senior Member
updhaul's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 132
We have had success with 13.5 btu roof top-ac on and microwave off, refrigerator on lp gas mode, not automatic and the hot water heater on lp gas also. Good luck! Turned off ac in morning to allow coffee maker and rest of kitchen and bath to operate normally with no problems before returning to AC power mode on 15 amp circuit without tripping breaker
updhaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 11:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 102
I can run my AC on a standard 15amp circuit, but with the 100 foot extension cord, you can tell the compressor is NOT happy about starting up. But once its going, it works fine.
lugoismad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 11:49 AM   #10
jeff64's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 587
Using one of the 30A to 15A dogbone connectors to make a connections can be an iffy situation too. If it's getting warm to the touch...that ain't good

No substitute for dedicated 30A circuit with RV connector

2016 Flagstaff 27VRL Emerald
14K Equalizer
2014 GMC 2500HD CC 4X4 6.0L
jeff64 is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.