Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-15-2010, 02:53 PM   #1

Hello All

I've been browsing this site for a few days and appreciate the advice and willingness to help that is demonstrated by all. Camping folks are the best.

I am new to RVing and have been researching all things RV for months now. I was going to buy a Jayco 26bh, DVW 4725lbs, but came to realize that my Toyota Tacoma, tow capacity 6500lbs, was inadequate for that model. My wife and I are close to settling on a Forest River Rockwood Mini-Lite 2306, DVW 2986lbs, much smaller that our first choice but still adequate for our needs. I am interested in learning how other Mini-Lite owners feel about their tt, FR customer service, problems, quirks and anything else you may deem important to know before we take the plunge. We plan on local weekend trips to the mountains and the shore when the weather turns better, but we're also planning on traveling out west to visit our son in Bozeman, MT. Will the Mini-Lite be adequate for long trips, and do you believe the Tacoma is enough vehicle for this tt. Thanks in advance for your help.

Greg & Shirley Confer
Harrisburg, PA
Gkconfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 03:15 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

to the forum !!!

What is the cab/bed configuration and wheelbase on your Tacoma ??? 1st impression is that you should be OK with the crew cab, longer wheelbased Taco, but run the numbers by the length and weight police here. You would definitely need a WDH with integrated sway control. We recently had a Tacoma member here whose trailer started to sway and ended up on its side on I-295 around Richmond, VA., but he was not using a WDH or sway control. It is a wise choice to be considering a small camper for a mid-sized pickup, but give us the stats and we can go from there.

Maybe other Tacoma owners can chime in here.

Again, welcome to the forum !!!