Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2015, 12:18 PM   #1
Boho Nana Witch

Hello From A Total Newbie in Ohio

Hi, all! I have been browsing the forum for quite some time, and finally joined. My husband and I are totally new to this, but hopefully not in too far over our heads . I was fortunate enough to take an early retirement incentive last October, and my husband is partially retired following a stroke in 2013. We researched a lot, looked at even more, and bought a 2015 Salem 30QBSS last November. We had it delivered and it's parked at my brother's house because we don't have a tow vehicle yet. We're doing this in stages. For the short term, when we finish moving out of our house, we'll be staying in the camper while it's parked there. My brother has us hooked up to his electricity, wireless, and cable, but we haven't de-winterized the camper for water yet. We stayed in the camper for the first time for a few days at Christmas when it was in the 40's, and we stayed nice and warm. It was a bit inconvenient for everyone without us having water other than bottled water to drink, but we just ran into his house when we needed the bathroom and used his shower.

We plan to get a tow vehicle in the next few months, but there is no rush. We want to stay in the camper for a few months with water hooked up and everything working and get the hang of it. I camped as a kid, but we just had a pop-up. Because of my husband's stroke, I'll be the go-to person to fix basic things if something needs to be done, but that wasn't much different before my hubby's stroke. My brother built his log home, so he is my guide and helping me to learn the ropes on basic repairs I'll need to know before we ever go on the road.