Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-08-2013, 09:00 PM   #1

lots of questions

I am new to camping and will have tons of questions. I have been retired for a while and currently work part time to help pay for my toys. I am about to pull the trigger on a 2012 windjammer 3065w, my tow vehicle is a 2001 F250 4x4 with a 5.4 and 373 gears. I purchased the truck new and its in great shape, however it has 140,000 miles on it , I have been told by the dealer (who will say anything to sell a unit ) that the windjamer is listed as a light weight and can be towed by a half ton pickup.The base dry weight is 7065, I have been told my 250 will tow it without any problems. I do plan to up date the truck probably in another year, but in the mean time I plan to travel the coast and maybe a trip out west. I have towed my 6000lb boat short distances without any problems. The truck is set up with the tow package, and of course the dealer was really glad to set me up with a great hitch with sway bars (included in the deal, yeh right) What do you all think ? enough truck thanks in advance..Chuck from Va
Charles Firth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 09:02 PM   #2

You should be ok pulling with that set up and welcome from California
iceblaze580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 10:27 PM   #3
Always Learning

Likely alright, but the numbers are easy enough to calculate.

You can use this page on my blog to get a feel for the numbers here:
http://www.learntorv.com/p/what-can-i-tow.html

And you can use this calculator to get an idea of what your tongue weight will be:
http://www.learntorv.com/2013/12/tow...alculator.html
Old 12-09-2013, 12:05 PM   #4

You should be fine with your truck but get a hitch with integrated sway control, not just sway bars, for that trailer. The Equal-i-zer E4 and Reese Dual Cam are popular and work well when set up correctly.