Old 05-25-2014, 10:41 PM   #1

New Forest River Owner

Hello! I've been RVing full time since 2006, but this is my first TT. I just bought a 2011 Forest River Rockwood 26'. I've had two 5th wheels, a Class A and an Allegro Bus, so this is a totally new experience for me. It is stripped down - I took out the valances, sleeper sofa, heavy mattress, chairs, etc. Made an L-shaped sofa in the corner with the two dinette benches and put in a lightweight desk. I tow with a 2005 Toyota Sequoia 4.7 liter V-8 SUV and it seems to handle things really well. I'm going to have a transmission gauge put it to make sure I'm not taxing the transmission, but in the little bit of driving I've done so far, it's done great on pulling up grades.

I've been weeding things out now for a couple of weeks and am about to have it down to the bare necessities to make sure I keep the weight down. I put in a clothes bar on the right side of the bedroom in front of the 2nd door that I don't use to have more clothes hanging space and added a curtain to hide the new "closet". The previous owners spent $5k putting solar panels and wiring it up for solar which is great.

I have a couple of issues - one is heat without power. I hate the furnaces because they really don't heat that well so I have a propane catalytic heater to use when I'm boon docking and I use plug-in heaters when I have power if there's no metering. The other issue is the entertainment system. Nothing works right and I'm ready to just take it all out and start from scratch. I was pretty disappointed that the previous owners didn't mention that little issue! And the last issue is the weight on the rear of my SUV. I'm having to have air bags put in back there to keep it from being pushed down so low and making the front of the SUV come up. I should get all terrain tires instead of the mud tires that are on the SUV now - will probably do that at the same time I have the air bags installed.