Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-05-2014, 04:35 PM   #1

New to all this

Hello everyone, I'm new to the rv world and will pester you all with questions about how to repair my junker
mcleland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:38 PM   #2

mcleland,
Welcome to the forum.
What brand and make trailer do you call your junker? What year ect...
Any pictures would help us help you.
crunchman
crunchman12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 04:54 PM   #3

I have a 92 allegro bay motor home and lost 12 volt power. I'm showing almost 14 volts but if I turn on lights or furnace power goes dead? I'm at a loss on what to do. I'm plugged into shore power and have a charger hooked to battery but same thing.
Old 01-05-2014, 05:09 PM   #4

Welcome! I believe most of us in the RV community have that special motorhome that got us started. Mine was a 2000 Fleetwood Tioga Arrow Class C. I started by searching the internet and manufacture websites for any thing I could to repair my MH. You'll be up and running in no time. Keep an eye on any water leaks on your coach since water damage is the hardest thing to repair. I had to rebuild the whole overhead cab because of a bad seal in the overhead cab window.

The other two items to keep a close watch on are relays and ground wires. Both can cause the problem you are experiencing.

Frank
ourflat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:12 PM   #5

Are you on shore power, generator, running motor, or just on 12 volt? Sounds like bad ground or cables.
litgrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:25 PM   #6

I'm on shore power. I have a charger hooked to battery as a buffer but when I turn on furnace all power drops to 3 volts? Is there a way to bypass so I can run furnace since it's -5 up here rt now?
Old 01-05-2014, 05:40 PM   #7
Site Team

welcome to FRF!