Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2009, 08:42 AM   #1

Unhappy Newbie from NJ

Hello all. I have been scouring these posts for the past two months and you all have a great deal of experience that I hope to be able to call upon real soon. I found out this morning that I will be getting my new Roo 23ss on Friday. I am both excited and nervous!!! I am a long time tent camper, but a first time camper owner. There seems to be sooo much that I will need to learn. I've received some pretty good advice from friends so far in the way of staples I will need just to have, but there are some things that are just driving me crazy.

I plan on going on my first trip next week and hope I am prepared. Most of the camping I will do is dry camping. The more I read about generators vs solar, the more I learn, but the more I don't know which way to go. If I go gen, I plan to go honda eu2001 (although the $$ is high). I don't "expect" to use a lot of electric, but I also don't want to disrupt my woodsy neighbors with a gen. Until I receive the unit, I don't even know what my amp hours are on the battery. Will I drain the battery over 5 days with nominal usage? How do I recharge it while dry camping?

Expectations on electric usage:
Fridge, lights (sparingly at night), radio. Plus whatever other electric sucking hidden items I will be surprised that use electricity (water pumps for sink, toilet). I really don't expect to be using the heat (maybe for an ititial warmup when we put the kids to bed.

Ugh, I think I'm rambling!

Stessfully yours,
Wes
TheWesties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 09:40 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus