Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-28-2011, 12:05 PM   #1

Sway issue

Hello all,

This is my 1st post to this site. However, I have read a lot as a guest.

I am new to pulling a travel trailer, we just purchased a 2012 2702ss.
Our current TV is a 2010 Tahoe with the K5L tow package and 20" wheels, autoride suspension. Trailer max weight on TV is 8200lbs or 14000lbs(GCWR)

The 27022ss is listed as 5512(dry) on the door sticker. I may have 600lbs of cargo(we pack light.)

We ordered the trailer new and I also purchased the Reese Strait Line hitch. We have taken the trailer out 4 times since we picked it up 3 wks ago(not farther than 25 km's to a local Provincial Park) Each time we have taken it I have felt terrible sway, after 80km/h and it will get worse as speed increases. Hitch adjustment seems right etc, vehicle sits level when connected and tire pressures are good. I will wait to hook up the bars after the autoride has levelled out.

I am taking TV and trailer to dealer today and hopefully they can figure something out with it.

Prior to purchasing the trailer, I did lot's research in regards to the capabilities of the Tahoe as a TV. On other forums members were telling people they were crazy in regards to wheelbase to trailer length. Other forums people had no issue with the Tahoe and were not going to break any "speed records"

The 2702ss is basically 32 feet in overall length. Has anyone else pulled a 32 foot trailer with a newer Tahoe with 20" wheels? I'm not sure if the P rated 275/55/20 tires are the problem. I am unable to find a 20" LT tire in my specific size.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I'll see what the dealer does today. I have contemplated purchasing the Propride P3 or the Hensley Arrow if the dealer cannot resolve the issue. However I have also been told by people that the Reese Strait Line is very good as well.