Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2014, 10:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 24
adding a DC outlet

Have a Sunseeker 3210 Class C and would like to add a outlet in the back bedroom that is powered by the batteries. Currently the only outlet that gets DC power is the one near the TV upfront. The inverter is also located upfront under the passenger seat.

I know the battery has sufficient power to run my need (a CPAP unit) because I've been running off an extention cord to the TV outlet.

How do I go about this mod? Should I run a second power source off the inventer to the back or run some new cables from the batteries to a new inverter in back? Any suggestions on how to run the wires or cables?

Any suggestions on how to approach this project will be helpful.
__________________

__________________
Cougguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 10:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 342
In the process of getting material together to do the same thing. I plan to use a 15 amp fuse holder connect to the battery #14 stranded wire and use a marine grade 12 power plug. I will run wire down the frame inside the under under carriage to the back of my trailer where bed room is.
__________________

__________________
2003 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9 Diesel
2014 Rockwood 2608WS
Big Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 10:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
The CPAP does not use that much power. Possibly use a lighting circuit and borrow an amp or two fpr CPAP.
__________________
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 03:11 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 24
Using a light circuit sounds a lot easier. So just find power (light or other) at the fuse box and tap off of that to a small inverter then to the outlet? Do I have the concept correct?
__________________
Cougguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 03:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
vinmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 1,793
That is what I would do. Just splice into a light.
__________________

2015 HW296
2006 HW256 (previous pup)
2013 Chevy Tahoe
Equalizer WDH 1000#
vinmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 04:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 342
Will work but safe way is to run a separate circuit that is fused to proper size fuse or dc breaker.
__________________
2003 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9 Diesel
2014 Rockwood 2608WS
Big Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 04:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,254
Your power distribution panel may have unused 12 volt DC spaces. It would be a cleaner arrangement to connect there and add a fuse in the panel if you can get from there to where you want to put the DC outlet. On our Sunseeker 3100 the panel is below the bed. Maybe you could put the outlet beside the panel.

Be sure to unplug the shore line and disconnect ALL batteries so the panel is not hot. The panel has 120 volt AC and 12 volt DC from multiple sources.
__________________

__________________
RamblerGuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.