Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2011, 08:36 PM   #1
Member
 
cmhbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Adding a Second AC

Has anyone added a second air conditioner? Our Sandpiper 35Loft is wired for a second one forward. We're considering adding it, but not quite sure where to go next. Back to RV Wholesalers? Any other FR dealer?

Are 13.5 and 15K the only sizes?

There's a duct outlet three inches from the 14-inch fan opening. Will an add-on likely plug in to the existing ducts and thermostat?
__________________

__________________
Bob Mueller | Fulltiming family of 9 since Feb 2011
More About Me
cmhbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 09:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 313
Does your rv have a 50 amp plug or is it set up for a 30 amp service? If it is set up for 30 amp you will at least need to change the service cord and possibly the 120 distribution panel to support a 50 amp service to accommodate the 2 a/c's.
__________________

__________________
~Andrew
99 F250 Super Cab Short Bed 7.3 Powerstroke
84 24' Yellowstone Camino (oldie)

http://rvpdi.com
Acableguy06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
That is correct, if it's not 50 amp now, you'll need to change the primary wiring harness into the camper from the outside service plug to the converter, and also the converter itself will need to be one for 50 amp compatibility. Then, the wiring will need to be connected to another breaker in that new panel box-(if it IS actually already wired FOR ANOTHER UNIT, and not simply wires for another fantastic fan, as mine has. Plus, those units weigh over 500 lbs, not a simple do it yourself job, at all. YES,are only 2 sizes, as you stated, and not much of a difference in flow. If it was me, I'd look at how to make what you have work better, as another poster did on here,Daisy the Boyken, by removing the cover underneath and enlarging the plenum areas to maximize the airflow to the vents. There is a lot of restrictive areas in there that can be opened up for a very significant improvement in airflow. Randy
__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:59 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
O.K., it is late at night, been a bad week so far, but I have to ask. Forgive please. Your post states "ur Sandpiper 35Loft is wired for a second one forward" Then you ask "Will an add-on likely plug in to the existing ducts and thermostat?

Now the hard part, how do you know it is wired for it? If you know it is wired for it, you should also know it takes 50 amp service.

To answer the real question, take it to any dealer to get it added, And yes, 13.5 and 15 are the only sizes available.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 10:50 PM   #5
Member
 
cmhbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 82
Yes, it's a 50-amp rig. I'm not sure even with the work that's suggested it would get much better. It's a BIG rig with 9 people living in it. I think we need the extra cooling power.
__________________
Bob Mueller | Fulltiming family of 9 since Feb 2011
More About Me
cmhbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 05:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 54
Oh brother what a mess.

Okay the 50 amp deal is true - gotta have it and a separate breaker for the unit - if that is wired you're good to go. Since I am not totally aware of your setup I can only tell you about mine. I added a second unit to the rear of my 315 SE last year. After removing the old vent, cleaning off the roof and making sure to have the wiring down out of the way, it's pretty simple to drop the new unit in place. And btw, I placed two ladders against the RV, my son and I grabbed one end each of the new unit and walked it up to the roof. Might weigh around 100 pounds if that much. You do not need any sealant, there's a gasket that goes between the roof and unit, read the instructions on tightening it down properly to compress the seal, wire it up, put the bezel in place and turn it on. Entire job took us just a bit over an hour and it's the first one that I have ever done.
__________________
Chasracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 07:36 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,263
There is a post on here from Daisythe boyken, in Jacksonville Fl, where he took the ceiling cover off, and opened up the VERY restrictive ventilation openings, and says it SIGNIFICANTLY improved his airflow from the AC unit. It would be worth a try to do that first, and see if it helps! Randy
__________________

__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.