Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2016, 04:36 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
If your unit is prewired for the second A/C then the power wiring is already in the ceiling at the vent opening. Also, the bracing is already in place for it as well.
This is true for his and my unit for the bunk rooms however I dont think it is for the master bedrooms. I know there is a sticker at the vent in the bunk room that says it is prewired but I dont see one in the master bedroom.
__________________

__________________

Kris & Alicia
2001 Ford F250 CC LWB 4X4 PSD
B&W Companion Hitch
2012 Sierra 32QBBS
noslofivoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 07:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
BDavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 113
Wiring and framing are most likely already there. Pull the vent and trim to inspect. Have the same with 2 AC
__________________

__________________
2016 Sandpiper 365asqb
2013 Rockwood Windjammer 3006W
2014 F250 6.7 PowerStroke 2wd
BDavis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 05:36 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Was at dealer with same problem.
Salesman said to try blocking vents in the part of my trailer that was to cold and force air to other room, bedroo next time out tried it on the 90+ Texas sun... worked fine...
__________________
Travelingcarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 12:56 AM   #14
BEFUDDELED MEMBER
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DEEP IN THE KITTY LITTER, NEW MEXICO
Posts: 50
Just run romex from pre-wired vent down the duct to the desired vent where 2nd AC will be installed.
__________________
13,SUNSEEKER 3010
RETIRED / New Mexico
KZ5PZ - EXTRA -
Viet combat vet USNR
DAV, VFW, CCL. SASS
shooter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2016, 02:47 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 4
Thanks Shooter I like that idea.
__________________
2012 Doge 2500 4x4 Cummins stock
345QBQ
one wife,son and a daughter and 2 dogs
Eatern Shore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 12:53 AM   #16
BEFUDDELED MEMBER
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DEEP IN THE KITTY LITTER, NEW MEXICO
Posts: 50
I install a 2nd ac in the front vent. It was not wired for 110. I ran the the romex back through the L ac duct to the bedroom vent where I could drill and run wire to front back corner of closet. Then down through floor of closet through floor, under floor to shore cable and to breaker box. I also purchased another buss bar for the breaker box and converted it to 50a. replaced 30a ac cable w/ 50a . replaced 30a transfer switch w 50a. Put the 2nd ac on one buss opposite original single buss so when operating on generator only 1 ac and all other circuits do not overload the 30a generator . After test drive had to secure romex as it bounced up and down while driving and making tapping noise. I went in through ac vents and put a spot of liquid nails to secure the wiring.
I did not put the A/C in the bedroom. Did that on my previous 5th wheel.It also short cycled as thermostat in same small room, even with the door open. Too loud in the small room, besides blowing you out of bed it also would cause frost bite on any exposed flesh.
__________________
13,SUNSEEKER 3010
RETIRED / New Mexico
KZ5PZ - EXTRA -
Viet combat vet USNR
DAV, VFW, CCL. SASS
shooter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 07:07 AM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,250
Adding a second a/c to a 30 amp camper.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "32"
__________________
TURBS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 05:17 PM   #18
BEFUDDELED MEMBER
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DEEP IN THE KITTY LITTER, NEW MEXICO
Posts: 50
first incarnation

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...lbums2774.html
__________________
13,SUNSEEKER 3010
RETIRED / New Mexico
KZ5PZ - EXTRA -
Viet combat vet USNR
DAV, VFW, CCL. SASS
shooter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 04:21 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Splendora, Texas
Posts: 1,114
I once had a stand alone AC in the bedroom of a fiver.
It was 50 AMP. The AC in the living/kitchen area was a 15,000 BTU
and ducted. The bedroom unit was a stand alone not ducted. It
is off or on and when we had it on it was nosy. We didn't like it.
__________________
whj77372 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2016, 02:49 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Loganville, GA
Posts: 22
Just pulled the bedroom vent trim. Are these the wires needed for a 2nd a/c?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1476557366348.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	66.2 KB
ID:	123030  
__________________

__________________

Kris & Alicia
2001 Ford F250 CC LWB 4X4 PSD
B&W Companion Hitch
2012 Sierra 32QBBS
noslofivoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.