Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2013, 11:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,318
Adding AC outlets

Hey everyone. Wanted to add a few AC outlets in the areas that will be best used. Seeing that the factory wiring runs up the wall and across roof, makes me wonder best way to accomplish this. How have others done this?

Sorry- I have a 2014 Evo 2850.
__________________

__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 11:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Roxboro, NC
Posts: 267
It is just a little harder than adding outlets in a home.
1. Can you access a path between an existing outlet and the new one. (Cargo area under both)
2. Remove old outlet if outlet is snap together type you might have to install a old work box with hose receptacle.
3. Run wire between these locations
4. Install new snap together receptacle at new location
5. Connect wiring at old location.

If you do not understand these basic steps call a local electrical for the install.
__________________

__________________
2007 GMC 2500 Duramax Crew Cab LB
2008 5th Wheel Cardinal 36LE
R Whitlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 06:25 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
PapaSmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mount Juliet, TN
Posts: 242
I added 3 new plugs, each on their own new circuit. It was not too bad. The hardest one was run to the rear for the new fireplace. Had to remove the panels under the camper to run that wire. That was a pain, but the rest of the project was fairly easy and straight forward wiring 101.
__________________
2011 Ram Truck 2500, Crew Cab, 6.7L CTD, 4X4, 3.73 Rear
PapaSmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 08:32 AM   #4
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,716
My trailer is smaller and I didn't need an outlet far away from the fuse box
so it was easy for me.
My panel had extra slots for new breakers. I used the typical plug in breakers found at Home Debit (Depot).
I put my extra outlet in the toe kick area near the panel and use it for
a space heater.
That way we can make coffee and be warm at the same time without
tripping a breaker. Also since the toe kick area was accessible by opening
a cabinet door I used an "old work" outlet box which was easy to install.

All are different. If you can't go thru a cabinet you probably will need to go
underneath to get from breaker panel to outlet location.
Good luck!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 07:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 41
There are no outlets in our main slide and it certainly would be nice to have one so we don't have to run extension cords to plug table and desk lamp in - or the computer or DW's sewing machine. Problem is, how do you get up through the floor or side wall? All of our other 5r's had at least one outlet in the slide.
__________________
JJnLilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 10:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Roxboro, NC
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJnLilly View Post
There are no outlets in our main slide and it certainly would be nice to have one so we don't have to run extension cords to plug table and desk lamp in - or the computer or DW's sewing machine. Problem is, how do you get up through the floor or side wall? All of our other 5r's had at least one outlet in the slide.
The main concern would be protecting the wire as the slide moves. I would order the wire protector that is installed in other campers before adding a receptacle.
__________________
2007 GMC 2500 Duramax Crew Cab LB
2008 5th Wheel Cardinal 36LE
R Whitlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 10:01 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,318
I need to add two outlets near my rear bunks and one near the sink. Can't believe there aren't more outlets. Any hoo, I'm in the same situation where I think I will have to run conduit underneath and attach to one of the crossmembers being careful of my slide equipment. Finally got all to do project just need some time.
__________________

__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.