Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2014, 10:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 519
Convert Cable in to Cable/Satelite in.

When you have a cable input only it is easy to convert it to a Cable/Sat input for a couple of dollars. I do it all the time.

This is the setup a lot of trailers have,

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1414159311.463653.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	592.7 KB
ID:	65250

Just install 2 cable plates in series and the problem is solved.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1414159362.935890.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	582.3 KB
ID:	65251

Hopes this helps someone.
__________________

__________________
jwedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 10:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,562
Or, put in an A/B coax switch for the same price and not have to fiddle with removal/installation of a jumper.
__________________

__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 11:21 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,469
Why bother with a jumper or a switch? Couldn't you just take the existing lead from the outside, put in a spliter and then run one lead to the existing cable/tv amplifier switch, and the other to the sat box? Then, when you're at the campsite, if you hook up cable, set the tv on cable and leave the sat box turned off. If you hookup sat, switch the TV to your sat box input and turn the sat box on?
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk, unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 11:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaadk View Post
Why bother with a jumper or a switch? Couldn't you just take the existing lead from the outside, put in a spliter and then run one lead to the existing cable/tv amplifier switch, and the other to the sat box? Then, when you're at the campsite, if you hook up cable, set the tv on cable and leave the sat box turned off. If you hookup sat, switch the TV to your sat box input and turn the sat box on?

Satelite will not work through a splitter.
__________________
jwedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 11:39 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
Or, put in an A/B coax switch for the same price and not have to fiddle with removal/installation of a jumper.

Not sure if it works through an A/B switch
__________________
jwedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 11:40 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jimdd810's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 141
Satellite will work through a splitter. If you have the right splitter.


Life is a highway!!!!!
__________________
jimdd810 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 11:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwedell View Post
Not sure if it works through an A/B switch
A/B switch like a straight shot. Works fine.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 12:02 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwedell View Post
Satelite will not work through a splitter.
I know you can't split a satellite signal from one LNB to multiple receivers, because the LNB and receiver work in concert. But I figured it would work when only used on one leg, kind of like a coax coupler, but just with a spot to hook up a second 'unused' coax. As long as you don't have a receiver on the the second coax, it should behave just like a coupler. Of course you also have signal loss to consider, but I don't see much difference between a decent splitter and coax coupler.

Then again, I don't use satellite (or the cable for that matter) in my trailer, and my home satellite has all direct runs from LNB to each reciever with no couplers, so I've never actually tired it. I think I've got some couplers and splitters handing around here somewhere, I'm going to have to actually try it out and see what happens.
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk, unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 12:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 155
Diplexers will allow you to receive both CATV & Sat over a single cable.
See attached sketch, and do a search on the net for diplexers or talk to a Radio Shack rep for a better explanation
Hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Diplexer.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	65253  
__________________
mbtelguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 12:11 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 519
Convert Cable in to Cable/Satelite in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbtelguy View Post
Diplexers will allow you to receive both CATV & Sat over a single cable.

See attached sketch, and do a search on the net for diplexers or talk to a Radio Shack rep for a better explanation

Hope this helps.

Yes it will.
__________________

__________________
jwedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.