Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-23-2013, 02:15 PM   #1
Phat Phrogs Incognito...

Post Designing and installing a desk in the bedroom.

Sorry for the lengthy intro... hopefully it will provide you with a break from what ever you were working on, or better yet, a solution to a problem that you might have.

Well, after many years of dreaming of being "free" to work from anywhere I can get a decent internet connection, I finally landed "the job" that will allow us to travel! For the curious, I am a systems engineer (specializing in Citrix) for a major computer company (based in Texas).

We live in north central Texas (DFW area) and my corporate office is in Boston, MA. So, I am what's referred to as a "remote employee". Other than demonstrating that I appear to know what I'm doing, I have to pretty much meet two things.

1 - Have a decent internet connection, so I can be signed in M-F, 8-5 and be on call for a week, once every 7 weeks.

2 - I am expected to have a "work space" that isolates me from other people or a main living area (where TV's or people can be a distraction).

At home (sticks and bricks), I have a nice, dedicated "office".
Our previous RV (2010 Keystone Sprinter 318FLS) really couldn't fulfill the #2 requirement. So... what better excuse to trade it in and get a new (bigger) RV??

But our RV requirements also factor in.
  • 4 seasons (and full time) rated
  • 4 door fridge
  • full size couch
  • double recliners, across from big TV
  • fireplace
  • lots and lots of counter space
  • lots of cabinets and drawers
  • full size microwave
  • dual air conditioners
  • lots of basement storage
  • big shower
  • king bed
  • large closet

Well, you can see where this is going. Time for a new 5er! And fortunately we happen to have a good solid 2007 Ford F350 XLT 4x4 DRW Supercab 6.0L (with a B&W setup) tow rig. (I like to think of it as foresight).