Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2014, 12:01 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
DougP47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 327
Dometic thermostat replace with Honeywell RTHL111B

I would like to replace my Dometic thermostat with Honeywell RTHL111B.
Picture of my Dometic stat.
Pic 2 is stat currently wired. -12V , common, +12V
Pic 3 wires not used on current confrontation.
Pic 4 stat to be instlled
Pic 5 back panel of new stat.
Not sure where to go from here with wires not used now. I can't get on roof at this time to see if wires are hooked up or not.
Ideas on how to install new stat would be appreciated. Thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0805142321.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	392.9 KB
ID:	59792   Click image for larger version

Name:	0805142321a.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	307.7 KB
ID:	59793   Click image for larger version

Name:	0805142323.jpg
Views:	228
Size:	286.3 KB
ID:	59794   Click image for larger version

Name:	0805142325.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	247.6 KB
ID:	59795   Click image for larger version

Name:	0805142327.jpg
Views:	245
Size:	283.1 KB
ID:	59796  

__________________

__________________


Ram 1500
Big Horn
Hemi 5.7 2011
Salem 30KQBSS 2012
DougP47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 12:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
DougP47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 327
Domestic Thermostat
Not used
Yellow
Brown
Green
Orange
Used on Dometic stat
White - 12
Blue common
Red +12
__________________

__________________


Ram 1500
Big Horn
Hemi 5.7 2011
Salem 30KQBSS 2012
DougP47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 01:14 AM   #3
Plain Old Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Full Timing in South Louisiana
Posts: 1,938
You will have to change the entire control box in the AC. The honeywell was an easy mod for the older t-stats that actually utilize most of the wires. The newer Dometic t-stat is a 3 wire set up, and a whole different control box in the AC. Plug and play is not an option on this set up.
__________________
John and Rebecca Dickson
Emma-7 / Little John-5 / Iva-1
Full Timing Again, Rev B
2013 Ford F-350 Lariat CC LB PSD
2015 SOB TT - With OC's Awning Poles (#8)
At least in Heaven, RVs will be perfect, and I won't have to keep fixing them.
BigJohnD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 09:51 AM   #4
Infractee
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 794
Big John is correct. The dometic unit is not just a T-stat, it is also a "brain" box inside the A/C unit as well, it uses 1394 comm codes to talk back and forth, it is more similar to a PLC than a regular T-stat. So unfortunately just changing out the T-stat will not work. You will need to run new control wiring between A/C and where you want to mount T-stat (currently not enough wires) and you will need to rewire the A/C unit itself, bypassing the brain box.
You would not need to go on the roof to do this tho, everything this concerns is accessible from the inside.

EDIT: Just noticed in pic #3 you do have enough wires so you would not have to run a new control wire.
__________________
RhoZeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 10:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
DougP47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 327
Thanks to both of you for your input. That's what I was not wanting to hear. Lol. You guys are great getting back so quick. Yes I do have enough wire tucked inside the wall. I will have to see if there is another model # that might work. If not just live with what I have. There is about a 4-6 deg change in tt that I wanted Ty o fix. Thanks to all.
__________________


Ram 1500
Big Horn
Hemi 5.7 2011
Salem 30KQBSS 2012
DougP47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 11:02 AM   #6
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
You're really out of luck, the Dometic thermostat is the only thing you can use. As said above, a communication signal from the thermostat to the interface box in the AC is used by Dometic, not simple contact closures as used by any off-the-shelf thermostat.

I don't even know if you can change the interface box. At the F.R.O.G. Rally today, they said the old analog interface box is no longer available.

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 11:17 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
DougP47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 327
RJhuser thanks, would you be kind enough to ask a tech what I can do about the wide temp range my current controller has?. Im looking at 4-6 deg temp range. Maybe a new stat. I was also wanting to know the current temp to be displayed not just.the set point. Have fun a the rally. We went last year and had a blast.
__________________


Ram 1500
Big Horn
Hemi 5.7 2011
Salem 30KQBSS 2012
DougP47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 11:28 AM   #8
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
From what was said, the temperature differentials are what they are - a 70* set point could result in a temperature range of 66* - 70*, 68* - 72*, 70* - 74*, or any other temperature within the 4* differential. I agree with you, that much temperature swing would drive me crazy - both home and RV are +- 1*.

As far as showing the current actual temperature, they said the only way to do that is to toggle the mode to "OFF" then press either the "+" or "-" key.

I'll see if I can find the Dometic "expert" and see if he has any ideas.

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 06:51 PM   #9
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
Talked with the Dometic AC expert at breakfast this morning.

To change the thermostat temperature differential, do the following:
Press the "OFF" button to shut the thermostat off
Press AND Hold "MODE" and "+" until display shows "D2" or "D1"
Press "+" or "-" to display "D1"

According to the Dometic guy, the default setting is "D2" which is +/- 2* differential, "D1" is +/- 1* differential.

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 09:39 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
DougP47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
Talked with the Dometic AC expert at breakfast this morning.

To change the thermostat temperature differential, do the following:
Press the "OFF" button to shut the thermostat off
Press AND Hold "MODE" and "+" until display shows "D2" or "D1"
Press "+" or "-" to display "D1"

According to the Dometic guy, the default setting is "D2" which is +/- 2* differential, "D1" is +/- 1* differential.

Rick
Rick thanks I changed the stat to D1. Will advice tomorrow the results. We will be camping all weekend, be a good time to test it out. Just makes one wonder why it's not set on D1 from factory. Many thanks. Doug
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0807142136.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	251.1 KB
ID:	59909  
__________________

__________________


Ram 1500
Big Horn
Hemi 5.7 2011
Salem 30KQBSS 2012
DougP47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.