Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2015, 07:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Rmk2001800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Stockton
Posts: 142
Electrical guys....

Ok I have a park model with a 50amp service- I want to add a washer and drier- the drier is a residential 220

What are my options to hook this up.

My thought was split the 50amp service into a regular panel I would have to add then pull 220 for the drier and pull 2 50 amp single pulls to the service panel in the park model.

Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Rmk2001800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 08:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 85
Why not just get a propane dryer?
__________________

__________________
AGFazio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 08:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Rmk2001800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Stockton
Posts: 142
Don't have access to it easily
__________________
Rmk2001800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 08:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 64
Depends where you can locate your new panel, if you can disconnect the incoming wiring and move it to the new panel, then you could run new wire to the incoming connection. I would use a panel with big enough lugs on the input so you put both the incoming wires as well as the wire going to park model panel under the same lugs. There is no reason to install additional 50 amp breakers for the trailer, just one 30 amp double pole for the dryer. You will have to watch what you turn on while the dryer is running.
__________________
caesar101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 08:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rmk2001800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Stockton
Posts: 142
The cord to the park model has 15' extra slack so I was just going to cut it in half- but sounds like I can just put both wires in each lug.

What box do you recommend to supply a 30 amp drier and 20amp washer?
__________________
Rmk2001800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 09:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 64
Something like this
Square D Homeline 100 Amp 6-Space 12-Circuit Indoor Surface Mount Main Lug Load Center with Cover-HOM612L100SCP - The Home Depot
__________________
caesar101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 09:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Rmk2001800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Stockton
Posts: 142
Where do the hide the amp main breaker? Under the cover? Or does it use 2 of the slots?
__________________
Rmk2001800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2015, 10:55 AM   #8
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
Which model power panel do you now have?

You may be able to run a cable from the sub feeds in the panel to a 4 circuit breaker panel close to the existing panel and then run wiring from there to the washer and dryer plugs.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2015, 10:57 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 64
You don't need a main breaker for anything. The new panel is protected by the campground breaker and the trailer does not see any change as the wire still comes from the campground breaker to the main panel it just has a tap off it for the new panel.
__________________

__________________
caesar101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.