Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2013, 07:34 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Big Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 533
Electrical Outlet Under Dinette

We have the 2011 Grey Wolf with the slideout that has the table/couch area in it. My wife has been bugging me about not having an outlet under the table area to plug in a crock pot or something on the table. Has anyone done this mod, or know of any wiring in that area?
__________________

__________________
2004 Chevy Avalanche Z66 W/Transmission Cooler
2011 Grey Wolf 28BH
Blue Ox Sway Pro WDH
2 Beagles (Snoopy & Dexter)

Big Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
Getting ready to tackle that one. I'll post w/pics when done. Probably another 10-11 days.
__________________

__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
Big Dawg,
My Sabre has an outlet under one of the bench seats. The problem I discovered with a 30 amp RV is that you have enought power to run the air and the microwave at the same time. Or the microwave and another power hog like a coffee pot. But if you add a third element like an electric heater or hair dryer, you trip a circuit breaker. So my solution was to cut the power cord by the frame where the electrical cord attaches to the swinging arm that supports the power for the slide (for the 110 v and the 12 vdc lights) and isolate the power from the 110 vac distribution. I then connected the 110 vac cord from the outlet in the slide to a waterproof metal outlet box with a male plug, available at any good electrical outlet but probably not at your big box store. Now when I go to my favorite park I hook up my 30 amp cord as normal and then run an extension cord from the 20 amp outlet on the park outlet box to the newly installed box. This allows me to run my trailer apliances as normal and in addition run a heater or slow cooker without fear of tripping the breaker. The circuit is still breakered at the park power pole.

Rod
__________________
2012 Sabre 250RLUD
2011 GMC 1500 Sierra
Max Tow, 6.2, 3.73
Rod, Debbe 1 spoiled Chihuahua and Becky the cat
1Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
Many campground do not want you to plug into both the 30 amp and 20 amp plugs at the post. In fact you are now drawing up to 50 amps of power when only paying for a 30 amp site.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:03 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper View Post
Many campground do not want you to plug into both the 30 amp and 20 amp plugs at the post. In fact you are now drawing up to 50 amps of power when only paying for a 30 amp site.
Lol I say tuff cookies!
I paid for the spot and all available power to it.

Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
But many places charge the same for 20, 30, or 50.
__________________
2012 Sabre 250RLUD
2011 GMC 1500 Sierra
Max Tow, 6.2, 3.73
Rod, Debbe 1 spoiled Chihuahua and Becky the cat
1Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 04:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
If they are charging the same for all three then there is no problem plugging in to the 20 amp but if they charge extra for 50 amp and you pay for 30 amp then you should not plug into the 30 and 20 amp to run extra items in your TT. There are many post where the camper is not getting full power at their site. This usually happens in the summer when everyone is running their AC. If you are taking extra power from the post this will effect everyone. There is only so much power available for a circle. If everyone was to take the extra amperage then there would be a major power failure or a major drop in voltage available to the units.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 04:23 PM   #8
William
 
WEMig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Lol I say tuff cookies!
I paid for the spot and all available power to it.

Turbs
X2! I often run an extension cord to run my griddle in the morning so that my trailer 15 amp breaker won't trip if we're running other things.
__________________
2012 Crusader 320RLT
2011 F250 Lariat 6.7L
2016 (19 Nights Camped/1348 Miles)
2015 (38 Nights Camped/3560 Miles)
2014 (28 Nights Camped/1980 Miles)
2013 (30 Nights Camped/1411 Miles)
WEMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 07:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 41
Back to the OP's original point, I too would like to install a 110 outlet in the slide of our Wildcat. This model came with limited outlets and we certainly do miss one in the slide. DW wants some place to plug in her sewing machine and a 'real' light and I want a place to plug in our cell phone amp and the computer.

Been looking under the unit for a way to tap into an existing run and then how to get the power up through the floor for an outlet. Will be anxious to see how the OP does it.

And yes, on an earlier unit I did run a separate line through the refer vent to a dedicated 110 outlet under the kitchen. When we were needing to run a heater, plugged it into that outlet and ran a separate cord from the power post to the male connection behind the refer vent. When not needed for a heater, plugged the cord from the outlet into the 110 outlet for the refer (it was a duplex box).
__________________
JJnLilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:53 AM   #10
Member
 
Willybgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alliston, Ontario
Posts: 67
I installed 2 electrical outlets in my grey wolf 26rl on the slide. What I did was install a flush mail plug with a flap on it on the outside wall and wired it direct to the 2 inside gfi plugs. I then plug the extension cord into the male plug on side and other end goes to post with the regular one. I have not had any issues with plugging both hydro cords in at the same time.

I am not at home right now so can not attach any pics. But if someone wants pics let me know.

Chris
__________________

__________________
TV: 2007 GMC 1500 Crew Cab 5.3L
Brake Controller: Tekonsha P3
Hitch: Equal-i-zer 4 point wd/sway control
Trailer: 2015 Cherokee 274RK
In Past:
2011 Grey Wolf 26RL, 2009 Cikira 19 EXP hybrid, 2008 Clipper 108st (pop-up)
Willybgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.