Old 10-01-2011, 12:26 PM   #1

Fishing wiring into walls

We have a recently purchased Catalina 20RD trailer. First trailer and we've used it twice now. Way fun.

I want to mount a TV in the bedroom and I also want to install a recessed fan forced heater with a wall mounted thermostat (low voltage). The TV outlet is factory installed on a shelf in the rear dinette.

Can wiring be fished into interior or exterior walls? How would you remove and re-install the fabric covering under the trailer to run wiring? I'm an electrical engineer and know all about wiring in buildings, but a trailer is entirely new to me. Maybe this is something to get done at the dealer's shop?

Thanks!

Old 10-01-2011, 12:56 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

First of all, hello and

Now, to partly answer your question. Recessed heater is going to require "what?" in the way of mounting. Most walls in campers are only 2 inches thick, not the 3 1/2 inches you may be used to house construction.Trailers are built with 2x2 lumber or aluminum in the walls.

As for repairing where you cut through the underbelly, I use thin plywood or paneling above the cut, then pre drill a piece of sheet metal about the same size for the outside. Hold the sheet metal up, use wood screws to mount to the paneling, making the membrane the meat in the sandwich. The I spray coat with automotive undercoating.

As for fishing wires, just like a house, you have to study and figure your best option, and hope it works. You can go up and down somewhat, but never across due to studs. Good luck, and keep us posted.

2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 04:38 PM   #3

Thanks for the info. I plan to install the heater into the storage space that is under one of the dinette bench seats. There is about a foot of depth available.