Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2016, 09:40 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 237
HDMI

Got a dish network receiver to go in the XLR and have ordered a 1 in 4 out splitter. I am gonna run one to the garage, one to the main tv, one to the bedroom and the last one to the basement. That way no matter which tv we are watching you will have satellite tv to watch. I think I have it figured out how to run the wires but was wondering if anyone else has done this or even tried?
__________________

the.wilsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 09:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 248
Are you splitting the HDMI or the coax satellite? You cannot split the coax. There will be huge signal loss even with nothing plugged in the other 3 outlets. Instead of a splitter you would need a multiplexer. If you are splitting the HDMI I cannot help as I have no experience with that.


Eastlake, Ohio
2013 F-350 Turbo Diesel
2016 Heritage Glen 368rlbh
__________________

Dinostop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 09:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 237
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B010B...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 Is what I am going to try to use to split the HDMI signal.
the.wilsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 04:44 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
You just can't split the coax from the dish to the receiver in port. You can split the output to the tv's all you want. That hdmi spliter is what you need.
Troy450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 06:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
indybp57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 334
The receiver sends signals to the dish over the coax to select the proper satellite azimuth and polarity for whatever channel that receiver is tuned to. The only way to be able to have multiple receivers all tuned to different channels is to have a dish with multiple coax outputs and one coax running to each receiver. You can't split it like you could your old school off air and cable signals.
__________________
2013 Roo 183
Miles Driven/Nights Camped:
2012:1042/13 2013:2772/27
2014:2259/30 2015:1644/20
2016:1278/23 2017:2183/22
indybp57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 07:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 460
Hi the HDMI out from the dish system is not powered. You will need to use a power splitter to receive the the signal from the dish and then pass it to the other HDMI cables. I used this brand that slit the to split it into two HDMI out puts. http://www.amazon.com/Movcle-Splitte...4WFZH4D9YVY4B9
TimVWulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 06:44 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
You can spilt the output. I have worked for dish 17 years. Output from the receiver is able to split hdmi, componet, coax or composite. No problem. My old hopper 2 was split to 3 tv's from one tuner
Troy450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 06:53 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
I should add..But you have to watch the same thing on all tv's. Get a Hopper with wireless Joeys if you want all tv's to show different channels.
Troy450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 07:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,164
ThE OP is correct and stated he was splitting HDMI using a HDMI splitter. Also stated he would watch the same thing on all TVs.

Works well! Go for it.
__________________
2017 Heartland Bighorn 3575 Elite with Reese Sidewinder
2016 Ford F 350 SD PS 6.7 SRW Crew Pucks and Reese 18 K Elite

2013 Rockwood 8289WS 2012 Rockwood 2703 SS TT 2007 Golden Falcon 38FLA PM 1983 Corsair 21RB
2015 Ford F250 PS '13 F150 3.5 Eco '09 F150 5.4 l 1987 Merc Grand Marq 1982 Ford E250 CW
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 10:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 237
Took our first trip with the new TV set up and it worked great. We could watch tv while cooking breakfast then go into the garage to eat and the tv would have the same program on it. Picture quality was as good as if there was only one tv. Now I need to and a repeater so the remote will work from each room.
__________________

the.wilsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.