Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2015, 08:09 AM   #31
Citrus County, Fl.
 
GL1800Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hernando, Fl
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by howie70 View Post
aaayyyyyy
It was funny in my head picturing The Fonz with his thumb up. Kind of hard to capture.
Here ya go!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	The Fonz.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	29.8 KB
ID:	88420  
__________________

__________________
2016 Forester 3011DS
2017 Toyota Corolla SE toad
PREVIOUS: 2015 Flagstaff 832IKBS
99 Terry 31G
GL1800Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 09:52 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,011
Iwannacamp,thanks for the Updates! Sounds like PI is easy to work with and Helpful! Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 10:49 AM   #33
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,476
I'll fly this idea by for a thought. Would it work if you ran a 50 amp cord with upgraded plug connectors, 6 gauge wire to the fuse box and upgrade the circuit breaker to a 50 amp? This would increase the power coming in to 6,000 watts from 3,600. That's because each wire coming from pedestal is increased from 10 gauge to 6 gauge. The true 50 amp service would deliver 12,000 watts and this idea is 1/2 of that because you are only using one hot line instead of two. You could always use the second hot for second A/C with a second breaker box.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 11:40 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by elind View Post
I'll fly this idea by for a thought. Would it work if you ran a 50 amp cord with upgraded plug connectors, 6 gauge wire to the fuse box and upgrade the circuit breaker to a 50 amp? This would increase the power coming in to 6,000 watts from 3,600. That's because each wire coming from pedestal is increased from 10 gauge to 6 gauge. The true 50 amp service would deliver 12,000 watts and this idea is 1/2 of that because you are only using one hot line instead of two. You could always use the second hot for second A/C with a second breaker box.

Ok. I am certainly NO expert. I will tell you what I think.

A 50amp service connection is 4 wires. I assume you have a 30 amp converter/inverter what ever you want to call it. You can pull from the 50amp outlet, but you can only use 3 legs on a 30 amp system. An adapter from 50 to 30 ties the two 110 legs together as j understand to the L1 leg of the power cord. That gives the upgrade as PI said and a POSSIBLE benefit.

This is my interpretation.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 11:44 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,354
Maybe this will help...

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1442072653.653970.jpg
Views:	1138
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	88430


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 12:26 PM   #36
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,476
My thought is a 30 amp cord uses three 10 gauge wires to power the RV. If you use a 50 amp cord that has 6 gauge wires X4 and use three of these wires (hot, neutral, & ground)for your power supply you will upgrade it to one 50 amp line. The normal 50 amp service uses two 50 amp lines for a total of 12,000 watts and using one hot line of the two hot lines will give you 6,000 watts (half of the normal). This is 2,400 watts better than the 3,600 watts of the standard 30 amp system.

The converter only breaks down the power from 120 volts to 12 volts to charge the battery and power the lights and 12 volt appliances. The A/Cs, water heater, TVs and microwaves are 120 volts. An inverter changes the battery power of 12 volts to 120 volts ac.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 12:55 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,354
I am good on the converter info...we agree on that. I was saying PI said there was an available current benefit of using a 50amp adapter. Because of available wattage. The wire size on mine is 8 I guess. It is heavier than 10ga. I didn't look at the cable yet. If you use a 50amp wire and leave off L3 in the coach...maybe the cord being heavier would have a positive affect.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 01:55 PM   #38
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,476
There are (3) 6 AWG and (1) 8 AWG wires in a 50 amp cable. My proposed hook up doesn't use an adapter but it needs to rewire the whole connection to the RV fuse box with 6 gauge wire including changing the 30 amp breaker to a 50. The weak link of my idea is will the fuse box be able handle single 50 amps hook up.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 05:26 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,354
Hmmm. I cannot see why the panel won't handle it...I would be worried about the trailer wring if you didn't add circuits. My wire is very small looking.
I don't have an educated answer maybe someone else will.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel
Our new 5er 10-26-16
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 08:11 PM   #40
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,318
Running half of a 50 amp service to a 30 power panel/converter technically would work and the 30 amp breaker terminal would most likely accept the #6 wire (I haven't actually pulled one to find out).

The 50 amp breaker protects the wire from the post to the 30 amp breaker and the 30 amp breaker protects the bus from it to the other breakers. Then the branch breakers protect the individual circuit wiring.

What you would gain by doing this is better receptacles in the post (usually) and less voltage drop. The down side would be heavier and stiffer cable, and having to carry an adapter for those campgrounds that don't have 50 amp service.

This scenario assumes that you run the #6 cable all the way to the 30 amp breaker. If you have a marineco connector for the power cord, replacing just the outside cable would be very dangerous because the wire from the connector to the power panel/converter would still be #10.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
trailer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.