Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2017, 09:30 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
jerrygallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 22
Install a new max air

I just bought a 2017 Rockwood windjammer 3029. In the rear living room we have a air vent and would love to put in a remote max air in. Does anyone know it there is a power source to tie into? I did look to see if it was wired for one and didn't see anything. There are some wires in the area but don't know where they go. I attached a photo of it. Any help will be appreciated. I'm out camping so at the moment I have no tools to test the wires.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20171118_075938990.jpg
Views:	224
Size:	415.7 KB
ID:	156647  
__________________

jerrygallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 09:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 13,148
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrygallion View Post
I just bought a 2017 Rockwood windjammer 3029. In the rear living room we have a air vent and would love to put in a remote max air in. Does anyone know it there is a power source to tie into? I did look to see if it was wired for one and didn't see anything. There are some wires in the area but don't know where they go. I attached a photo of it. Any help will be appreciated. I'm out camping so at the moment I have no tools to test the wires.
Is your unit a 50 AMP,that was prewired for 2nd A/C? Even so like you know test the wires and hook up your fan,everything is there! Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 09:53 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
jerrygallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 22
Yes it's 50 amp and I had the 2nd ac installed
jerrygallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 10:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,724
Great photo. That helps immensely.

Iím going to go out on a limb here and say Iíd guess that the two wires(white and red) are some 12V and ground to something else....lights, fan etc. Thereís no guarantee of color code, but when I did the same addition to our rig, the white is ground (negative) and the red is 12V (positive). The red could be ďliveĒ all the time or is controlled by some other switch for something nearby....a light perhaps. Either way....an essential tool on an RV is a digital meter to know what the wires do provide, and knowing how to use one.

Itís possible the other 4 wires are 110V to an air conditioner or such. Again no guarantee.
__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 10:05 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
jerrygallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 22
I figured when I get home I will test them wires and see if they have a constant 12 volt to them. And not on a switch if so I'll splice into them. Just wondering if anyone one else has done this?
jerrygallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 01:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
A32Deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mount Laurel,NJ
Posts: 5,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrygallion View Post
I figured when I get home I will test them wires and see if they have a constant 12 volt to them. And not on a switch if so I'll splice into them. Just wondering if anyone one else has done this?
All my roof openings now have vent fans and my wires were white ground and red positive if that helps.
__________________
2012 SunSeeker 3100SS Toad-1962 Futura Average 100 + days camping
A32Deuce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 02:05 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
jerrygallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 22
Awesome thanks. That helps alot
jerrygallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 09:47 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 17
I just did this on my Nitro XLR 23kw. I used a meter to find a hot 12 v line running close. Yes, unfortunately itís trial and error. Use a 12volt meter or find a local electrician. My neighbor helped me.

But wow, makes a huge difference. Youíre going to love it.

The pain is striping all the old sealant off.
BikerMikeyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 12:47 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
jerrygallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by BikerMikeyB View Post
I just did this on my Nitro XLR 23kw. I used a meter to find a hot 12 v line running close. Yes, unfortunately itís trial and error. Use a 12volt meter or find a local electrician. My neighbor helped me.

But wow, makes a huge difference. Youíre going to love it.

The pain is striping all the old sealant off.
I did it on my old camper but it had 12 volt to it already. Yes the sealant stinks. That takes more time than installing it
jerrygallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 02:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hoffman Estates Il.
Posts: 157
MaxAir fan

I did, exactly, this mod to our 2016 2304KS Mini Lite.
In our case, the red and white wires fed a light just behind the vent, toward the front of the trailer. I used that power source for the MaxAir. I t works fine.
Good luck and happy camping

Denny B
__________________

Denny B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.