Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2014, 12:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Installing Hott Rod water heater element

I bought the Hott Rod with switch kit for my Puma (2013 30DBSS). At first, since I bought the switch accessory I thought it would somehow hard wire in and not require a receptacle. Well I was wrong. You still plug it into a receptacle. My question is this. I have a dedicated circuit for the propane water heater (6 Gallon Suburban) with it's own breaker. I can't imagine it pulling that much power. Would it be a bad idea to put in a junction box in that compartment and then split off a receptacle as well to plug in the electric element? I wouldn't mind running another dedicated run but logistically I'm not sure how it would happen. My converter is in the bunk house room I'm not aware of a way to get into the floor to run the wire up to the kitchen area. Thanks in advance for your replies.
__________________

__________________
2013 Puma 30DBSS (Parked at Seasonal Site)
2001 Ford F-150
travyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 171
As a follow-up, I read that the Hott Rod only pulls 4 Amps and I can't believe my Suburban 6 Gallon only being propane pulls anything really. So, theoretically, this should be fine what I am proposing to do. Just would like someone with actual electrical background to confirm.

Thanks again.
__________________

__________________
2013 Puma 30DBSS (Parked at Seasonal Site)
2001 Ford F-150
travyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:27 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
The propane side is 12v not 110v so your good there.

TURBS
Sabre owners united!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Now that you say that I remember that fact. Why exactly would I have a breaker and not a fuse then? Isn't the breaker for the AC side of things and the fuses are for the 12v things? I'm not at home so maybe I am confusing things here but I swear it was on a breaker.
__________________
2013 Puma 30DBSS (Parked at Seasonal Site)
2001 Ford F-150
travyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:54 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by travyp View Post
Now that you say that I remember that fact. Why exactly would I have a breaker and not a fuse then? Isn't the breaker for the AC side of things and the fuses are for the 12v things? I'm not at home so maybe I am confusing things here but I swear it was on a breaker.
Are you sure your wh is gas only?


TURBS
Sabre owners united!
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:55 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Does it look like this?

TURBS
Sabre owners united!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1395431732853.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	48089  
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 171
Yes, that I am completely sure. I better check tonight to confirm before we speculate too much on this whether it was a breaker or not.
__________________
2013 Puma 30DBSS (Parked at Seasonal Site)
2001 Ford F-150
travyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 03:58 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Or like this?


TURBS
Sabre owners united!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1395431948356.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	48090  
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 04:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 171
It looks more like the first one. There definitely isn't a switch on it to turn on electric. The Pumas come standard with the Propane only and I know it wasn't optioned with electric as well.
__________________
2013 Puma 30DBSS (Parked at Seasonal Site)
2001 Ford F-150
travyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 04:26 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by travyp View Post
It looks more like the first one. There definitely isn't a switch on it to turn on electric. The Pumas come standard with the Propane only and I know it wasn't optioned with electric as well.
The first one is gas and electric.
The second is gas only.

Switch far left hidden


TURBS
Sabre owners united!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1395433567626.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	46.0 KB
ID:	48092   Click image for larger version

Name:	1395433602054.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	40.9 KB
ID:	48093  
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
heater, water, water heater

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.