Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2016, 01:21 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
Is your Hot Water heater turned on electric?
__________________

__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 01:24 PM   #12
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
Also make sure your convertor is off.. It makes a crzy loop when the batteries power the invertor then the invertor powers the convertor... But I would first shut everything off and see what happens with just one circuit at a time to see what trips the system.
__________________

__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 01:48 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Havasu Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by B and B View Post
Is your Hot Water heater turned on electric?

I had the water heater on the fist time when it kicked the fuse. I turned it off and got the same result.
Ok, dumb question, how do I turn the converter off?
__________________
Bill
2016 Forest River 3250 Cardinal
2016 RAM 2500 Longhorn
Previously: 36' Country Coach
Havasu Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 02:34 PM   #14
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
There will be a breaker for it on the main panel, prob labeled as convetor or conv. That is what makes the 12v power from the 120 volt.
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 02:48 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Havasu Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 199
Thanks! I'll have a look 😊
__________________
Bill
2016 Forest River 3250 Cardinal
2016 RAM 2500 Longhorn
Previously: 36' Country Coach
Havasu Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 05:26 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Havasu Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc73 View Post
There will be a breaker for it on the main panel, prob labeled as convetor or conv. That is what makes the 12v power from the 120 volt.
Found the breaker and that did the trick. I can run the fridge, TVs and lights. I tried the coffee machine but that kicked it off again.

I guess I need a bigger inverter to make coffee and run the microwave.
__________________
Havasu Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 07:12 PM   #17
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
2000 watts will be close. They are prop 1500 watts maybe a bit more. Try turning everything else off and see if they can be run. Just one at a time.
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 08:10 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Havasu Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc73 View Post
2000 watts will be close. They are prop 1500 watts maybe a bit more. Try turning everything else off and see if they can be run. Just one at a time.
Thanks! I'm headed out on a trip with it in the morning. Hope to have more time, when I'm not playing in the sand dunes, to mess around more with it.

Thanks for the quick help getting it to work. I've got a tech coming on Monday to give me recommendations on a long term fix.
__________________
Havasu Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 08:32 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Havasu Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 199
Everything is working great running the "jumper" from the 2000W inverter to the shore power receptacle.
I've got an 80A Optifuse in the positive feed to the inverter. If I'm reading my Cantrex Prowatt manual correctly it says I can have a 250A fuse there. It's the 80A that kicks limiting the inverter output.
Has anyone replaced this fuse or have any other thoughts?
Tomorrow morning I'm testing the coffee maker again 😊
__________________
Havasu Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 09:13 PM   #20
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
I would not do a 250 amp.. 166 amps would make your max output 2000 watts. I'd do a 150/ 155 amp breaker to leave some wiggle room.
__________________

__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, wiring, modifications

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.