Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2012, 12:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 52
Just got DirectTV for the house

So I was thinking I might as well put it in my 5th Wheel. I have the trailer on a seasonal spot so portability is not an issue. Am I right to think all I need to do is pick up a dish and receiver from craigslist and install them in the trailer. If i understand it I would need a reciever for each tv? I have 3 tv's is it possilbe to just change the channel on the reciever and be able to watch on another tv? Or would I need 3 rec. for 3 tv's?
__________________

__________________
cjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 12:23 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
We have dish network so one tuner does 2 tvs.
I use reciever from my shop.
I got a used dish from a direct tv installer and mounted it to a work light stand.

Not sure of the ins and outs of direct tv.
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 12:41 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
I haven't had DirecTV for about a year now, but as far as I know, you will need a receiver and dish, and an access card from DirecTV, which they charge you extra for. (somewhere around $8 a month)

You can use one receiver to feed 3 or more TV's, but you will have to watch the same thing on all TV's at the same time. You can't watch ESPN on one TV and the Cooking channel on another unless you have more then one receiver.

Personally, I always just took one receiver (with access card) from the house when I went camping. Didn't need it at the house anyway. Had a dish bolted to a concrete block. Worked great.

So you could take 3 receivers from your house with you when you go camping...
__________________
2000 Excursion Limited 7.3 PowerStroke 3.73 gears
1993 E-350 Super Club Wagon 351W, E4OD, 4.11 LS rear (named Clifford)(Retired)
2010 Salem 30QBSS
1 DW, 1 DD, 3xDS's
RedLance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 02:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ironj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
i dont know if direct is same as dish as far a equipment goes, but i have a single dual tuner box in my trailer....so you can watch one channel in the living area in hi def, and any other ONE channel on the three other tvs...

I do however ALSO use the sling capability from dish, so i can also plug my phone or pad into any tv (assuming i have cell service or wifi) via hdmi and watch any dvr'd program or live program from my house.

this comes in handy if you just want to watch a movie or catch the local news and you dont want the hassle of setting up the dish and aiming..as i dont have a seasonal space.

I will note that with dish, you HAVE to be able to get all three sat signals at the same time in order to use the dual tuner function...not sure if is the same with direct. some of the rv specific units that "find" the signals automatically can only do so on ONE signal at a time...so if you have a dual tuner or even multi box setup and one program is on feed 110 and one is on 119 those types of dishes will not work.
__________________
2015 F350 Platinum Fx4 6.7 Diesel Dually. B&W turnover, B&W Companion, air bags and wireless controller.
2015 Heartland Road Warrior 420 Rt
2012 f250 Fx4 6.7 Diesel crew cab tinted n tuned
2012 lacrosse 318bhs touring- sold
ironj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 03:15 PM   #5
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
Just an FYI, DirecTV does not do mobile HD since the KA band is so tight. Dish Network does HD however. I had both.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 03:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 52
When you say mobile HD what do you mean? Are you talking about one of those portable dish's? I was thinking of just using one of my recievers for the summer. If you have to watch the same channel that would be ok.
__________________
cjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 11:11 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 52
Just thoght I would give an update. I set up the DirectTV at my trailer the other day and I get all the same HD channels that I get in my home. I have it set up on one TV but would like to get it on another. Not sure if I need a different box or if its even possible.
__________________
cjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 11:40 AM   #8
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
mobile as in "in motion" Stationary might be fine.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 12:28 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ironj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjones View Post
Just thoght I would give an update. I set up the DirectTV at my trailer the other day and I get all the same HD channels that I get in my home. I have it set up on one TV but would like to get it on another. Not sure if I need a different box or if its even possible.
again, im not sure exactly on a directv box, but if you have it working on one tv you should be able to split the output to another tv fairly easily...or if the boxes are like dish boxes, just use the hdmi out for your main tv, then run a coax from the coax out to the other.....

now if your talking about watching 2 or more tv AND getting different programming on each tv individually, then you either need a dual tuner box or an additional box for each tv....

i will add however, that if your trailer is wired like mine, you will only have ONE sat output in the main living area from the input on the outside of the trailer......which could make running 2 or more boxes difficult....

hence why i chose to use a dual tuner box....
__________________
2015 F350 Platinum Fx4 6.7 Diesel Dually. B&W turnover, B&W Companion, air bags and wireless controller.
2015 Heartland Road Warrior 420 Rt
2012 f250 Fx4 6.7 Diesel crew cab tinted n tuned
2012 lacrosse 318bhs touring- sold
ironj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 52
I think the box's I have from DTV have only one coax were it comes in from the box to the wall. Then there is only one hdmi and that is used for the TV
__________________

__________________
cjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.