Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2014, 05:42 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
ironj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Whitlow View Post
You need a larger wattage power supply to push watts required. If it is a very long distance the wire within the led strip will have a voltage drop. The specs will address the max length that can be cinnected. To overcome this you can run a wire along the strip to catch the second string of led lights.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Forest River Forums mobile app
Actually u can buy boosters to put every 32ft....or wire like you said. ..

My simple solution was to put a y connector right at the controller box...ran 2 strips to the right and 2 to the left...worked out perfect as I negated any voltage drop past 32 ft....stock controller and 4amp pwr supply light em up bright and consistent. ....

Been behind the crown moulding 2 yrs now on 24hrs a day and stil purring along

sent from fat fingers via a space dish thing with no regard to grammer.
__________________

__________________
2015 F350 Platinum Fx4 6.7 Diesel Dually. B&W turnover, B&W Companion, air bags and wireless controller.
2015 Heartland Road Warrior 420 Rt
2012 f250 Fx4 6.7 Diesel crew cab tinted n tuned
2012 lacrosse 318bhs touring- sold
ironj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 07:59 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
transamz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 409
Are you guys doing this for looks or purpose? There are way better lights out there if you are wanting a lot of light out of a shorter strip and less power. These guys are great people and will help a lot. All their lights have a lifetime warranty too.
__________________

__________________
2005 Ram 5.9 AT SB QC (Retired)
2010 Ram 6.7 G56 QC CC Aluminum flat/Leveled (Sold)
2008 Nitro Z9 towed by a 2015 Sanibel 3601 towed by a 2013 Ram 3500 SRW CCSB Cummins
2006 EZ GO 6" lift
transamz9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 09:38 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
ironj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by transamz9 View Post
Are you guys doing this for looks or purpose? There are way better lights out there if you are wanting a lot of light out of a shorter strip and less power. These guys are great people and will help a lot. All their lights have a lifetime warranty too.
Have u seen how bright the 5050 leds are?...even off 2 amps they are ridiculous bright turned all the way up...a strip will light up your whole site?...I mean if u hard wire into 12v its only like 20$ for strip and controller?..im sure there are brighter options but why?.

sent from fat fingers via a space dish thing with no regard to grammer.
__________________
2015 F350 Platinum Fx4 6.7 Diesel Dually. B&W turnover, B&W Companion, air bags and wireless controller.
2015 Heartland Road Warrior 420 Rt
2012 f250 Fx4 6.7 Diesel crew cab tinted n tuned
2012 lacrosse 318bhs touring- sold
ironj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 12:07 AM   #24
Junior Member
 
5ersabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
Post pictures this really spuds interesting. I would like to experiment with interior led lighting. I'm not a fan of similar 12v light fixtures replacing them with adjustable rgb LEDs would be awesome.
__________________
5ersabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 05:20 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by psw757 View Post
Thinking about installing some LEDs under our new coach and am trying to figure a few particulars out.

I need to 16 ft strips to run down each frame between front and rear axle. May need two shorter lengths maybe 4ft to run up front and in rear side to side.

My question is can this be done with one controller? Also, would it be best to plug into a basement outlet for power or try to wire directly to chassis/starting battery? Don't think I can use the house batteries as they are 4- 6volt batteries.

Any help is appreciated. I want to keep this as simple as possible!
Mine are wired to 110v. I do not boondock anymore. I had two old 110v to 12v plug in's that you seem to get with everything these days so I just cut off the end and wired the controler to them. You would be able to run them off the same controller if you use the same brand and wire them together, with that many lights make sure your 12v/110v can supply enough juice to run them. They are very low drawing amp wise.
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led, light

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.