Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2013, 04:42 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 973
I think you want to put a DP switch in the shore line between the cable and the panel. Answer is yes/no. you could, but if you forget to open the switch once, you may electrocute someone who may grab the plug end. You really should use the proper switch. Simply put economics away, and do it right. A double pole double throw switch isn't that expensive and considering that you only have to flip one switch, instead of remembering two...well I'd say its a no brainer.

Why don't you run the #10 wire to an RV outlet box mounted inside the shore power cable compartment? then you could just plug the RV's shore power cable into that when the inverter is needed?
__________________

__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:01 AM   #22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
No compartment, this is a tiny trailer. Cable is removable.
Only thing someone might grab with the inverter on is the female connector on the side of the trailer for the 30pin. I figure unless there is a key, or tongue, or paperclip involved, there's no chance of electrocution
__________________

__________________
2009 FJ CRUISER (ARB BUMPER, Rear Airlift 1000, and some other stuff)
2013 Forest River R-Pod 177HRE (Mods)
compubmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:42 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 973
I don't have a detachable cable, but I am familiar with them. isn't there prongs that stick out inside the "female" connection point on the trailer?

You can do what you want, but I really insist that you use the double pole switch.

here's an example: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003AUPTP8
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:17 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
In the boating industry there is a switch used for shore power to generator. Completely isolates one from the other. This could be used w/an inverter also. Like Lou mentioned, and since this is on a small RPOD, a manual method changing power like the power strip and "HOUSE" and "INVERTER" main outlets would work extremely well. Keep It Simple and and as the OP mentioned - keep your tongue out of the outlets!
__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 01:00 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Whitehouse, Texas
Posts: 694
I just bought a 2013 Georgetown XL 378.
Can anybody tell me if it is possible to connect an inverter in the tv cabinet to power only my tv and a dvd player so while I am going down the road my DW and niece can watch a movie without running the generator.
The dealer tried to install one but said the 12v cable running to the 12v outlet under the tv cabinet was not large enough to power a 300 watt inverter.
I don't have an issue installing a DPDT switch to change over the tv and dvd from the shore/generator power to the inverter.
It would be nice if Forrest River would provide a complete wire diagram with the gauge sizes upon request so I could make the install.
__________________
wrapperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 11:09 PM   #26
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Look on u tube under "tiger claw 1500w inverter. The illustrator means ions the ac neutral and battery negative are tied together and warns against using for home use. Your house gfi looks for hot to neutral difference. You will need to install a transfers with that breaks the hot and neutral no getting around it
__________________
Trikkineon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 11:41 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Whitehouse, Texas
Posts: 694
I'll look it up
I haven't done it yet but it is on my bucket list to attempt.
I believe a transfer switch and pure sine wave is the way I would like to do.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
2013 Georgetown XL 378
2008 Honda CR-V
wrapperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.